Kayla Alexander

Julia Pihl
WNBA Stars
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2018

Kayla Alexander is a veteran women’s professional basketball player competing for the Indiana Fever. Alexander plays the center position and her alma mater is Syracuse.

Alexander led a promising career at Syracuse as she holds the program record for most all time points scored, blocks and total field goals.

Alexander shoots over opponent(courtesy of flickr)

Since her collegiate career Alexander has gained a good amount of experience at the professional level, and also had many great experiences so far.

She explained that her favorite memory thus far was when her mom was able to come out and watch a few games. Her team had been struggling, yet Alexander was ready to show out for her mom and get a win.

Well for this game my coach said I was going to start, so my mom came down to watch our first game with me starting and we ended up beating NY Liberty and I had a career high that night!,” she said.

This is just a start for Alexander. There are many aspects of her game that she is looking to improve.

“There are always parts of your game you want to improve, until I’m shoot 100 from the field goal and can do literally everything I will always work on my game. As of right now I’m working on my square up game being able to attack people off the bounce, extending my range and defense,” she said.

When she is not competing in the WNBA, she is playing overseas. She played her first three years in Russia, and this past year she spent the offseason competing in France.

Kayla has just begun her fifth season in the WNBA and looks to make an impact for the Indiana Fever. Good luck this season!

--

--