Enjoying Airport Madness

Tabby Basha
WO Freelancers
Published in
5 min readJan 8, 2021

Maybe the best part of traveling isn’t the destination but the friends we made during.

After traveling around the world I learned not to take airports for granted. What I once thought was a holding cell for me to repent in before I got to my destination I now consider a second home.

I’m here to show you how to make the most of your time in an airport. Whether you are running through it looking for a gate that seems to not exist or you are stuck in the real-life purgatory that is a layover.

Why I’m Qualified

In total I have been to 28 countries, no this isn’t a flex, I just want to set up the parameters that I’ve been in way too many airports. The probability that 1/10 of my life has been spent either in the air or in an airport is very high.

My unconventional knowledge of airports stops at the border of America. My family prefers to travel by car in the United States, because of this the only airport in America I have been to Is O’Hare In Chicago.

It’s tragic knowing I have never gotten yelled at by staff after complaining about the pre-packaged food at the Newark Airport in New Jersey.

Because I have only traveled internationally I can only speak to the quality of the international gates at the airports on this list.

Good Layover Airports

Heathrow

Located in the greatest of Britain, truly feels like home. I consider it to be a layover paradise because it’s so large and there’s so much to discover. What other airport has a Gordon Ramsey restaurant?

The charm of the English is not lost on this airport, the international terminal is large and open, it feels like more of a shopping mall than an airport. This airport is quite British because you have a 1% chance of seeing the sun during your landing.

What sets Heathrow apart from other British airports are the trains. The network of biscuit tins that run below Heathrow are truly unsung heroes. If you need to get to your gate fast they don’t disappoint.

Dublin Airport

Breakfast and a show should be the new slogan for Dublin Airport. In order for a plane to land in Dublin, it has to first fly over then do a U-turn. The amazement of watching the mini-map during landing is truly unmatched.

The excitement of Dublin Airport ends at the runway but what Dublin lacks in excitement it makes up for in compassion.

From the moment you land you are treated with kindness.

Security stops and metal detectors always scare me but at Dublin, every security officer greets you with a smile, not the normal scowl, that makes you overthink every item in your bag. My airport anxiety diminishes after a warm Irish welcome.

Charles De Gaulle

The distaste that Parisians have for foreigners ends at the doors of Charles De Gaulle Airport. The friendliness of the Staff comes only second to the kindness of Dublin.

This airport is my personal favorite for having a layover on an empty stomach. Even if I’m rushing towards my gate I always try to get a pastry and coffee at one of the many quick service cafes. If you prefer a taste of home they also have a Mac Donald’s and a Starbucks.

The only reason O’Hare is not on the list is that they don’t have a Starbucks at the international gate. I’m not paying for overpriced coffee from a company I’ve never heard of. I’d rather overpay on a brand I trust.

Airport Layover Games

Layovers can feel like an eternity so try these things to make the time more enjoyable

Making friends while traveling is just as fun as making friends in the airport

I’ll admit long layovers can get extremely boring, but the best way to avoid airport boredom is by talking to other travelers, everyone has their own story and it is so fun to learn from them.

How to start a conversation

Questions:

“Where are you going?”

“How long did they say the layover was?”

Questions are a perfect conversation starter when talking to other people because they force the person to respond.

Comments:

“Wow this layover is long”

“I love your jacket”

Comments are good when talking to strangers because you can gauge how much a person wants to talk to you based on their response.

This or That Game

If you are traveling with a buddy or if you have just made a friend by using the conversation starters above you should play this game during your next layover. All you need is some spare time and cash.

Rules:

  1. Players start by deciding on prompts they can be simple, blue items, best snacks, or complex, what I would take during a zombie apocalypse. Players also decide on how the winning items will be chosen. This could be based on how funny or practical they are.
  2. Players set a spending limit and a time limit
  3. Staying within both the time and the spending limit each player must find items that fit into the prompt
  4. Players then meet up and share their items and describe how it fits the prompt
  5. A winner is crowned

Avoid Winter Layovers

Layovers are unavoidable and most of the time unpredicted, but the worst time to have a layover is during the week of Christmas.

During the holiday season layovers go from a chance to explore an airport to a missing 10th circle of Hell. Everyone is exhausted and on edge, children are either running around or screaming, and I just want to be home. It may be Christmas time but I assure you every last drop of holiday spirit is sucked out of the place.

Enjoying Your Layovers

Most people hate layovers, and for good reason, but changing the way you think about layovers will transform your traveling experience.

If you travel via airports a lot enjoying layovers is a necessity. Layovers won’t become any less of a nuisance, but when you start to treat them as a chance to explore they suddenly become something that you’ll look forward to.

A layover is an anxious traveler’s worst nightmare but after I started enjoying them my stress around traveling has greatly decreased.

--

--