Experiment 2: BrainBoost Playlist

Mauricio Wolff
Wolff experiments
Published in
4 min readSep 23, 2017

This idea came when I was doing the keto experiment, because I was constantly looking for information on foods, minerals, and documented effects of the diet.

Then I stumbled on a blog called renegatehealth.com, from Frederic Patenaude. I liked that the guy doesn’t exactly believe in keto, so his articles are less biased than the most. Also, he goes after research, providing data for most of his claims.

Anyway, I found the post with the title Boosting brain power with classical and baroque music. This sounded interesting as I work in an environment that requires lots of data processing and connecting in creative ways.

The TLDR: according to a study from John Hopkins University, baroque music (1600~1750) with tempos between 50–80 bpms can

stabilize mental, physical and emotional rhythms to attain a state of deep concentration and focus in which large amounts of content information can be processed and learned.

Not only that, but I found out another study from Stanford where a group of scientists stuck people with noise cancelling headphones into fMRI machines and found that baroque is able to lock and sustain attention, due to the transitions of this kind of music and a brain process called segmentation. In the words of one of the professors, Vinod Menon:

I’m not sure if the baroque composers would have thought of it in this way, but certainly from a modern neuroscience perspective, our study shows that this is a moment when individual brains respond in a tightly synchronized manner

That seemed nice, so I decided to to an experiment out of it.

Current situation

My daily work environment is noisy, we work on an open floor structure, with lots of talking. It’s very convenient because if you have a question regarding a feature or code, the best way to get the answer is walk a few steps and ask the author (thanks to git blame).

So noise cancelling headphones is the way I found to be able to concentrate.

But what music would be more efficient? Usually when I’m coding I like to listen to Skrillex, Zomboy or Kill the Noise, because it’s fast, cyclic and speeds up my brain (apart from being good music). I usually listen a playlist or a song in loop mode, so it becomes a background sound. And it works for me… Would baroque music be more effective?

The experiment protocol

  • Create a playlist based on Frederic’s blog post recommendations
  • Listen ONLY that playlist while working
  • Listen to music as often as possible while working
  • Use this protocol for at least 1 month

I created a Spotify playlist called BrainBoost with 253 songs (13h), with pieces from Bach, Marais and Handel.

I’ve listened it from July 15th ‘till August 15th, while working (~4–5h a day, the rest is meetings) and with no exceptions. When biking to and from work, I’d usually have my daily dose of Skrillex (or other things).

During the experiment

I was able to identify which songs resonate more, usually the ones with lower bpm, and skip the ones with choir, because voices and words distract me. I’d probably be able to reduce the playlist, but kept it and skipped the songs I didn’t find useful.

On the other hand, found out that Bach is indeed a genius, as well as Handel, and got to know Marais, which I’m a fan now.

Since day one concentration and focus were easier, and I could feel an overall calmness that was higher than the usual. Stressful situations or meetings didn’t have the same effect as before.

I have to admit though that sometimes I’d like to listen to something else to have some variety, specially if I was a bit sleepy or tired, but stayed strong in the protocol to validate it after a month, which is kind of short time.

Conclusions

After one month only listening to baroque 50–80bpm music to work, I can affirm that — for me — it does work.

It facilitates concentration and keeps me in a calmer mood than with other music or without music. It also has the added effect of not being obtrusive, so it’s like it creates an atmosphere around you that allows deep calmer focus.

Right now I’m listening to Orchestral Suite №3 in D Major — Air in G from Bach (not on the playlist) to write this up. Some people might feel it melancholic, I advise. I feel it calm.

Next steps

To only listen to it I found it limiting, but if there’s a need to calm down, interpret large chunks of information and produce tangible output, this is the kind of music I’d choose to work with.

This experiment is closed.

--

--

Mauricio Wolff
Wolff experiments

A Product Designer (aka solution finder who likes to use data to create awesome user experiences. Design Sprint Consultant.