How I Learned to Trust Myself

I am a baby sister, the youngest child in my family.

Sadie Hannah
Woman: Who we are already
2 min readNov 17, 2016

--

I’m the one who will forever be seen as somewhat irresponsible, demanding, and spoiled. I have always had someone there to help me, and it’s a good thing, because I need a lot of help (or so my family thinks)…

Until recently, I think I believed this too.

Historically, I’ve been quick to ask for help. I’ve had a hard time making decisions. I’ve asked friends and family for advice, deliberated, and ultimately felt swayed by those around me.

Have you ever felt this way?

It’s one of the most agonizing things…to not know the right thing to do, to worry that you’ll let others down if you make the wrong decision, to worry that you’ll make yourself unhappy by doing the wrong thing.

In a nutshell, this is my “coming of age” story:

The quick and dirty cliff notes on how I learned to trust myself.

I’ll tell these stories, month by month, in a series called Brave.

I’ve chosen this name because that’s how I finally learned to trust myself: by being brave enough to confront a few really challenging years, and not only survive, but GROW in the process.

A fierce, fire-y force to be reckoned with.

Now I KNOW beyond a shadow of a doubt…I know that I will always be okay. I know this because, “the best of who we are, we are already”. And that means that this grit has been there all along, I just didn’t know it. I didn’t own it.

Now, by going through hell and back, I’ve proven to myself that I am a fierce, fire-y force to be reckoned with… And now I just want to love :)

It’s a funny thing, but here in my mid-thirties, I think I’m finally growing up.

--

--