Stories Told in Color: Black & White

Pictures telling a 1,000 words in France & Japan

Caitlin Roberson
Woman: Who we are already
4 min readOct 18, 2016

--

Even as a writer, I love how pictures tell stories that words can’t. This series is devoted something else I adore: color.

Scroll down to see this picture again, and read its story in the caption.

It may seem ironic to start a series dedicated to color celebrating two technically non-colors, but they are on my mind. Reasons most likely include the fact that…

1) Two woman I work with wear black and white almost exclusively. Both are consistently elegant, not unlike this photo of WHAT’S HER NAME?

2) The color combo has shown up more often in my own outfits and nails recently. Coincidence, circa the above?

3) Black-and-white thinking, circa Trump. The Washington Post already let him speak for himself. Need I say more? (If you haven’t digested Amanda Taub’s reporting on the political science of all-or-nothing authoritarianism, please do.)

4) I visited a country last month whose minimalism oft-manifests via this hued duo: Japan. From Tokyo to Kamakura, Hakone to Kyoto, I marveled my way through the technically non-colored ubiquity.

Speaking of which, welcome to Tokyo.

(Please read the captions; they are part of the story!)

I crossed these beautiful color blocks in the Ginza district of Tokyo.

It was the same afternoon I bought these:

The Interior Design article that profiles this art store, Pigment, was the inspiration for my trip. It’s also now the inspiration for my condo’s second bedroom — the ‘art room’ — where they’ll hang in a frame.

Aren’t they lovely?!

I experienced a similar sense of wonder the next day after I bullet-trained to Kamakura. The town is famous for a 13M bronze Buddha that symmetrically hails from the 13th century — and survived a tsunami in 1498 that destroyed the entire surrounding town.

But I was captivated by something else: Flags that share fortunes with shrine visitors several miles away.

It was raining and windy when I took the pic. Pretty magical.

That sensation repeated again the following evening in Hakone, when I sat in a trolley car that proffered up this view.

Before you look, imagine yourself on a hillside so steep that the train must ascend in a zigzag that will instinctively remind San Franciscans of Lombard Street. The hills are rocky and almost black. The Japanese maples, stately. Between their leaves, self-sequestering light shafts iteratively remove themselves from the day, flirting in a fashion not unlike the many timid eyelashes you’ve seen this trip.

Now imagine how piercingly you cry when you see this fog.

It’s like there’s translucence inside of you, an open air cavity that’s full of oxygen, connecting your head to your soul to your heart.

And now, to France.

My friend Duy Ho took this picture of the Louvre. I spent several weeks in Paris last summer after one job ended and before another began. Its elegance and simplicity reminds me of one Frenchwoman who I watched for 15 minutes, as she sipped a single shot of black espresso. The cup was white.

Some people in the above photo were likely on their way to the next:

Many mysteries surround Mona Lisa — chief among them, her smile. [Another photo of Duy Ho.]

Fun fact: According to “emotion recognition” technology, Mona is only 83% happy. Fear and disgust comprise another 15% (Source).

Oh, selfie.

At left is an outfit I wore several times in that summer in France. The cute Airbnb host had left out some of her hats for guests to wear. It was a gesture almost as quaint as her lovely flat in the 9th arrondissement.

Do you see the goblets? I found them at a local flea market. I doubt they’re really from the 1920s like the seller said, but the possibility was intriguing enough to buy them.

I drank as much champagne as water that summer, and discovered in the process that these flat champagne glasses were originally fashioned after Marie Antoinette’s breasts. Unfortunately, the shape makes champagne lose its effervescence quickly.

And then there was espresso…

Black and white food please.

Though the above is a sweet note to end on, I’ll also share the below from TED Talks. It’s a great antidote to something we all have: Limiting beliefs and sometimes black-and-white thought patterns.

If you ever watch ‘Saved by the Bell’, you may recognize this guy. (Thanks to Freddy for sharing.)

“30 Ways to Happy: When trying to be perfect stops being fun” is Caitlin Roberson’s first book available on Amazon (https://goo.gl/L7i2F1), Audible (https://goo.gl/2H9tG5), iTunes(https://goo.gl/RqQiRu), and Kindle (https://goo.gl/EGyqgY).

--

--