In The Name Of Sweet Black Baby Jesus

Tis' the season for nativity scenes and arguments about Jesus' appearance/origin.

Melissa A. Matthews
Woman’s Rant

--

Photo of Nativity scene by Author

I have not been to church since Adam was a baby boy. For more reasons than I'd care to share, it's not a place or concept that I put much stock in these days. However, my daughter attends a Presbyterian school. Therefore, she attends the church attached her school a couple times month as part of their religious instruction.

They say prayers everyday before school starts at their daily assembly. I say all of this to say that church is an active part of her education. Therefore, I was not at all surprised that her end of term project was a nativity scene.

I was prepared for us to tackle this project together but I was not prepared for the argument that would arise.

My daughter has a cousin who is just a year older than her. They attend the same school, they do two extracurricular activities together and they spend every waking hour that they aren't together asking if they can visit each other.

It is not uncommon for them to be at one of the houses for a couple of days and then switch to the other. It was on one such day that I discovered the template for the nativity scene which I'd set aside on the dining table, all colored in. The wise men were…

--

--