What am I doing here?

Saralisa Rose
Women in Film
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2021
Many diverse women gather together and do the Rosie the Riveter pose. A pink banner above them says ‘we can do it’.
Intersectional Rosie the Riveter by Tyler Feder

March is the month that harbours International Women’s Week, and we often see posts on social media on March 8th celebrating International Women’s Day. Quite by accident, I’ve been watching a lot of women-centric films this past month and I started making a list for some reason, maybe just to remember all the awesome films.

The more films I watched, the more I thought about what I could do with this list. I said to myself, I could post something about all these great films on International Women’s Day! And up until about a day ago, that was still my plan.

Then I started thinking about all the films I’d watched and how much I wanted to say about them. So. Here I am. Writing a little blog about movies. This is such a last minute project that I’ve decided to do, but I also think it’s going to be great? Maybe?

So for 31 days, I will watch 31 movies centred around women and write about each one, right here. I would love it if you’d come along for the journey. Feel free to share any (or all) of these posts with people you think might be interested. Or hey, if you’ve been trying to get somebody to watch that one film for a long time, maybe my post about it will persuade them. You never know.

See you all on the other side of 31 days of this.

--

--