Women In Marketing 2024 Edition ft. Lavanya Wadgaonkar from Nissan Motors

Lavanya Wadgaonkar, the Chief Communications Officer at Nissan Motors, shared her diverse journey from excelling in college and acting in movies as a child to becoming a corporate leader. She emphasized the need for organizations to evolve and adapt, advocating for a hybrid work model. Lavanya also highlighted the significance of AI, suggesting that those who leverage it will gain a substantial edge, while acknowledging that AI is still in its infancy. Her perspectives illustrate a future driven by adaptability, talent, and technology. This edition of Women In Marketing is extraordinary as Lavanya is our inaugural entry from Japan.

Thabiso Kgabung
Women In Marketing Interviews
7 min readSep 13, 2024

--

Personal Background:

Describe your high school and college years. You were the coolest one, right?

I hopped between schools and skipped grades so often that my school days felt like a never-ending loop of new faces, new places, and new rules to break. But one thing was constant: my dance performances — always the star of the show, no matter the school. College, thankfully, was a bit more stable. I was everywhere — cadet corps, service projects, cultural events, and even kicked off my radio gig. Busy? Yes. Bored? Never!

What’s your favourite meal that you wouldn’t share with anyone?

Fried potatoes with rice.

What would be your plans for a sudden $10 million windfall if you were to receive it tomorrow?

Buy a remote island — if planets were possible, I would buy one 🙂.

Can you share an interesting fact or hidden talent not found on your LinkedIn profile? Previous Women in Marketing candidate Anastasia Hamel says that she can breathe fire!

I am very good at acting. In fact, I had starred in movies as a child.

Career and Work:

How do you typically start your day, and are you #TeamCoffee, #TeamTea, or both?

#TeamCoffee without doubt. I cannot function without freshly brewed coffee in the morning.

What inspired you to pursue a career in marketing? Didn’t the “I want to become a doctor” bug bite you?

You wouldn’t believe how many people were disappointed when I didn’t pursue medicine. I like to think I chose to keep the world safe by not going that route (the truth is, I faint at the sight of blood).

As for my current career? Total accident. I started as a creative soul and somehow ended up in the corporate jungle. But hey, my creativity is still my superpower.

Many industries had to create systems overnight that would enable their respective workforces to work from home due to the advent of the COVID-19 pandemic. What’s your perspective on remote and hybrid work, and how have you dealt with its challenges? Do you have a preference?

Adaptability has been crucial to my success. I believe in evolving and adjusting as needed. Remote and hybrid work might seem new, but workplaces change rapidly throughout our careers.

I’ve adapted from paper to screens, LPs to CDs, and from fixed hours to flexible workstyles. This shift to hybrid work is just another step in that evolution, and personally, it suits me well.

AI is the hot topic of the day, most specifically, generative AI tools like ChatGPT and Gemini. How do you address the challenges you face in your day-to-day responsibilities? Any specific tools you’d like to plug us with?

I often say that AI won’t replace you, but someone who uses it will. That’s why AI should be a daily tool.

However, we should focus on three key areas: security, governance, and scalability. First, we’re still figuring out the best ways to keep data safe. Second, we must invest in solid data governance and clearly define where AI should be used within company guidelines. Third, we should understand how well these AI solutions can scale, as many are still in beta mode.

I prefer using internal AI tools to ensure data security. I have, however, also experimented with external tools like Grammarly, Ask AI, and Smartly outside of work.

According to the WEF, the pandemic caused a 4.2% reduction in women’s employment compared to 3% of men (from 2019 to 2020). How can companies better support women and mothers, especially in light of the pandemic’s impact on women in the workplace?

The immediate impact of the pandemic may have caused this disparity, but the trends post-pandemic can actually support women. The shift to hybrid and flexible work arrangements has benefited many, particularly women and young mothers, as it allows them to better balance work and personal responsibilities.

Integrating AI and intuitive applications also fosters a more collaborative and inclusive workplace, making it easier for diverse teams to work together effectively.

How can companies ensure equal opportunities for women to advance into executive positions?

To create fair opportunities for women, companies need to take some real, actionable steps. Creating an equitable workplace that truly supports diverse talent requires ongoing efforts. This includes addressing issues such as gender pay gaps, ensuring equal opportunities for career advancement, and creating an inclusive culture that values and supports all employees.

Companies must continue to innovate and implement policies that not only support flexible working but also address the underlying systemic barriers that prevent true equity in the workplace. This might involve mentoring programs, diversity and inclusion training, and active efforts to diversify leadership roles.

And most importantly, companies should work on building a culture that genuinely values different perspectives and actively shuts down any form of discrimination. Creating a level playing field isn’t just the right thing to do; it’s also a smart move for driving innovation and growth.

2024 and Beyond:

If you could go back in time, what advice would you give your younger self?

I’d say, “Embrace change and don’t be afraid to make mistakes — they’re part of the journey.” I’d also stress the importance of building strong, genuine relationships and not to underestimate the power of a good support network.

What are your personal or professional goals and aspirations for the future? We hope to see you on Forbes’ Most Influential CMOs list. No pressure!

Professionally, I’m currently pursuing my passion, but in the future, I aim to be someone who makes a difference and inspires change. Professional titles are important, but what really matters is finding contentment.

Who are some of your sheroes?

My mother and mother-in-law and many women out there who might not be widely known. But they are quietly powerful women who shaped their daughters to navigate tough terrains with strength and grace.

What are you currently reading, and how do you consume your content?

I’ve switched to an eReader to dive into more books. I’m currently reading Filtered World’ by Kyle Chayka for non-fiction and ‘Hum’ by Helen Phillips for fiction.

What are you currently streaming that you’d recommend?

I am catching up on Lupin and Vikings.

You wake up one day, and before you know it, you are nearing retirement. What would you like your professional legacy to be? Furthermore, what do your colleagues and superiors admire about you the most?

As I near retirement, I hope my professional legacy reflects a blend of innovation and cultural curiosity. In a fast-moving world, I want to be remembered for driving positive change while also valuing and considering emotions.

As for what colleagues and superiors admire most about me, I think it would be my ability to blend creativity with practical problem-solving. They’d likely appreciate my dedication to continuous improvement and my knack for bringing out the best in those around me.

We are always looking for amazing Women In Marketing to profile. Who would you like us to get in touch with?

Wendy Orthman

Share a unique message for young professionals in the marketing industry.

Remember, we’re not just selling products or services — we’re connecting with people on an emotional level. Stay authentic and genuine in your approach. Understanding and respecting emotions is key to creating meaningful and impactful connections.

Thank you for your time, Lavanya. We hope this interview will inspire future leaders and other Women in Marketing. How can people follow you and your company on social media?

I am available on the following channels:

Follow Nissan Motor Corporation on LinkedIn:

--

--