Jenna Andrews Talks Inspiration and Being a Powerful Woman in the Music Industry

Women In Music
Women in Music
Published in
4 min readNov 22, 2019

Jenna Andrews is an acclaimed A&R, publisher, and songwriter for Jennasis Music/TwentySeven Music Publishing. Andrews has collaborated with artists including Noah Cyrus, Lennon Stella, Drake, Dua Lipa, Zhavia, Jessie J, Max Martin, Diplo, and DJ Mustard to name a few. Most recently she has joined forces with industry veteran Barry Weiss’ for their joint venture TwentySeven Music Publishing at Sony/ATV as well as being an exclusive consultant for Weiss’ RECORDS label. Twentyseven Music & RECORDS A&R signings include Little Mix, Gracie Ella, producer/songwriter Rob Grimaldi (Queen Naija, Elijah Blake, Louka), Cody Tarpley and Black Mayo (who produced “Valentino” for 24kGoldn)and 23-year-old Chapel Hill, NC, America’s Got Talent finalist and social media star Anna Clendening.

Photo credit: Shervin Lainez

Success is such a personal concept — we all see and define it differently. How did you personally define your success?

I feel success when I accomplish a daily/weekly/monthly or yearly goal. In my eyes, success shouldn’t be based on societal pressures… it SHOULD be about what you personally have aimed to achieve whether it be big or small. I experience small successes all the time and use them as motivation to achieve bigger goals. Creative people never tend to feel satisfied, and find it hard to ever feel success, because when you reach one goal post, you already want to reach the next one. So for me, I try to make it all about perspective.

What advice would you give women who want to enter your side of the industry — What are your top three tips?

1: Unfortunately, as a woman it’s easy to feel objectified. I would advise others to ignore whatever perception that may be and do your best to manifest whatever reality you see for yourself.

2: Music is all about releasing emotion. As females, we are emotional creatures, and that is a very necessary force in this business. Use that emotion as an asset, don’t consider it a weakness.

3: Always stay true to yourself.

How have the personal and professional experiences in your life contributed to your success today?

This business isn’t easy, we are bound to have ups and downs from time to time. On the personal side, the same thing can be said. Balancing life on and off the clock can be a lot at times, but I can confidently say that it has continued to make me work harder and has inspired me creatively.

Can you share with us some of the challenges you’ve faced?

I’ve faced my fair share of challenges but there’s one in particular that always stays with me. When I started, I would often sleep in my car to save gas money, as my studio was far from home. Confronting a challenge like that made me hungrier for success, gave me something to write about, and made me a better artist in the long run. Your true self shines through in the face of adversity.

What is the most valuable lesson you’ve learned?

I’ve learned to be open minded, not count anyone out, and always be open to trying new things. You never know what that one thing will be that could change your life.

What do you think is the most pressing issue women in the music industry face in your region?

Unfortunately, women don’t have their voices heard in the same way that men do. Women have to change the way they dress, harden their disposition, over deliver, etc. We jump through all these hoops just to be respected on the same level and in the same way.

Who inspires you, and why?

In utter and complete honesty, every strong woman in their respective business inspires me.

What do you look forward to accomplishing at Twenty Seven Music Publishing + RECORDS in the next year?

I look forward to breaking the songwriters and producers that we are signing. The goal is to sign a small stable of songwriter/producers in order to really focus on them and give them the attention they deserve. With that, we can ensure that they’ll continue to create music to the best of their ability.

On the RECORDS side, I am really excited about Lennon Stella and Lauren Jauregui, they both have amazing music coming out!

Tell us more about how you got involved in Twenty Seven Music Publishing + RECORDS? What is your ultimate goal and what do you need to take it to the next level?

I first met Barry Weiss (Founder of RECORDS) while I was signed to Island Def Jam as an artist, he was the CEO at the time. We reconnected a couple years later when he started RECORDS, where he brought me on as a songwriter/vocal producer for Noah Cyrus. I was developing a young artist by the name of Lennon Stella at that time and felt that RECORDS would be a good home for her, so I ended up signing her to the label. Eventually, Barry offered me a consultancy. Our publishing company “Twenty Seven” came about simply because we have a great working chemistry, one that we were able to extend to music publishing.

Follow Jenna on Instagram and Twitter

--

--