How I wrote an ebook in one month and sold 130+ copies in one week

Anne-Laure Le Cunff
Women Make
Published in
9 min readNov 12, 2018

--

Exactly a week ago, I published Make & Shine, an ebook which is all about personal branding for indie makers. Several people have reached out asking about the process and the experience, so I wanted to share this as a way to say thank you to the community!

This is how I wrote, designed, published, and promoted Make & Shine. This is obviously not a perfect blueprint, but I hope you find it useful.

1) Launch results

First, to put the following process into perspective, here are the results I achieved. I offered to get the ebook via Amazon or via Gumroad, and sold one odd copy to someone who reached out asking to use PayPal.

Make & Shine ebooks sold on Amazon Kindle.
Make & Shine ebooks sold on Gumroad.

Okay, so how many exactly?

• Amazon: 29

• Gumroad: 106

• PayPal: 1

One-week total: 136 copies

The Make & Shine Product Hunt launch page.

--

--

Anne-Laure Le Cunff
Women Make

Maker • Founder, Ness Labs • MSc neuroscience candidate at King’s • Indie researcher • ex Google • Entrepreneur First alumni • Creator of #diversity30