Just f*ing ship it with Women Make

Marie Denis
Women Make
Published in
3 min readOct 1, 2018

Starting today, October 1st, Women Make is organizing its own hackathon. The goal: build and launch something in 30 days. Set a goal and just ship it.

Why organizing a challenge

It’s been a few months I follow Ben’s work and I really like what he’s doing with newco, a platform to help people build stuff without code. But when Graeme pinged me this tweet about running some sort of online program, I didn’t know what it would entail.

Where it all started, on Twitter

The idea was to use their new platform to organize a challenge in partnership with Women Make. I’ll be honest: I’ve never been a big fan of hackathons. But this time something was different. I started realizing the potential the initiative could have and I got excited to hear more about it.

It didn’t take long before I could see all the positive impact and great opportunities this challenge would bring:

  • Get the community members involved in a common event
  • Raise and promote Women Make’s voice
  • Tighten the bonds among members
  • Build things together
  • Raise and promote women’s voice as makers

The goal of Women Make is to gather women makers and have a place to chat and help each other. What if we could actually build something together at the same time?

I was excited to take part myself too. This was the perfect opportunity to focus on an old unfinished project or to find a new one and get to work. But most of all, it was the perfect opportunity to do so surrounded and supported by amazing people.

Building together is exciting

In the beginning, I wasn’t sure everyone would be as excited about the challenge as I was. But when I asked the community on Telegram what their thoughts were, people were in! I was so happy to receive such positive feedback.

Once enough people were in, we brainstormed like crazy on rules, ideas and names for the hackathon. Here’s the result:

The goal of the challenge is simple: build and launch something in 30 days. It can be anything as long as you set yourself a goal and work toward it for 30 days.

We shared a doc where people could share and find ideas to work on. It was so cool to see the diversity of projects and how the members were sharing their excitement and creativity. Folks discussing ideas, sending their encouragement, talking about potential collaborations, offering their help… This is exactly what Women Make is all about.

Join us!

But enough talking, it’s time to get to work. The challenge begins today, and I have a project to ship! If you want to join us, it’s not too late. Signup here. It’s open, everyone can participate. Drop me a message if you have any questions.

There’s a lot of exciting projects you can check on the program’s page and you can follow everyone’s progress on @women_make_. I’ll write about it on the next newsletter too.

Thanks to Aurora and Anne-Laure who re-read, corrected and improved this post 💛

Women Make is an open community to support women makers. Everyone is welcome as long as they are here to empower women.

If you or your company want to help me developing this community, you can support me via my Patreon.

--

--