7 Ways You Can Make Your Movie-Watching Experience Better

A Filmmaker’s Guide To Watching Movies In A Theatre

Vaishnavi Sundar
Women Making Films Pub
5 min readDec 14, 2019

--

Photo by Karen Zhao on Unsplash

I make films for a living. I write, direct and produce my films. On some occasions, I shoot and edit it too. But long before I started making films, I was a good ol’ audience member. One who relished the thought of experiencing a film in a grand cinema hall. The rush I get when I’m about to watch a much-awaited film is indomitable. I have cried, laughed and raged while watching a film and I would love to pay for a good viewing experience. I go to a theatre alone most of the time, and sometimes with friends. That said, I have very little tolerance when it comes to a bad film, so even an IMAX with Dolby Atmos can’t please me.

I didn’t go to a film school; I could not afford to. I was a corporate rat who prematurely snuck out of the race in 2013. I say prematurely because I was not wise enough to have made big bucks before calling it sour grapes. My personal life was in a doldrum, and I could not keep my wits about any job. When I quit, I had no hope nor money. I have been making films since, and my only education is watching them on screen. While it didn’t fetch me a hefty cheque, it sharpened my skill as an artist and being an artist help me cope with life. So when I say you can heighten your film-viewing experience with these steps, I know what I’m talking about. Most of what I’m about to tell you is just commonsense and I don’t have to be a filmmaker to say it. But coming from India, with the kind of abhorrent films that release in theatres as “superhits,” I have learnt that common sense is not so common after all.

It might shock you, but a significant number of people don’t get this. Arrive on time!

If I had a penny for the number of times I have cursed latecomers, I would fund all my films with ease. Some movie theatres have buffer time where they barrage the audience with painfully loud advertisements. Some come late despite that, and it sucks for them as well the others watching. What most people don’t understand is the importance of not missing the crucial beginning minutes of the film. You may as well have stayed at home. Not only will you not understand the plot of a (good) film, you will lose interest halfway.

Find out the duration of the film.

Whenever I set out to watch a long film, (<150 minutes), I make sure I don’t have anything planned immediately after. Not all films have a standard screening duration, some are quite long, and others as short as 90 minutes. I have noticed people running out of the theatres before the film ends, and this happens especially during long films. Nobody plans the evening based on how long the film is. Of course, you can get bored and walk away, but you heard me say “good film” right?

Put your cellphone away.

And if you have someone next to you using it, ask them to put it away too. If you want to “check-in” to the theatre, and announce it to your imaginary, huge social media followers, perhaps you could do an imaginary check-in too. The last thing one wants is a Justin Beiber ringtone with a Punjabi remix. Or a text from your ex that you sulk about for the rest of the film.

To pee or not to pee; should never be the question.

Always pee before the film. You can’t think about anything but peeing, through it all. We would often consider it, but think we are okay for now; 10 minutes into the film, the bladder will lol at us and we will kick ourselves for not doing it before. Ever been there? I have. Don’t do it.

Intermission snacks — a recipe for ruining a perfectly good film.

In India, we have this utterly illogical concept called the intermission. A capitalist attempt at selling insipid coffee at 10x the price. Unfortunately, this concept of intermission extends to films outside India too. The operator will stop the film at a random point, mid-sentence and start playing local language advertisements. I wish they entirely dispose of this stupidity and let us enjoy the film better, but no. How else can you experience the chewing noises of snacks that people are hell-bent on buying mid-film? I might even forgive a bad film, but having someone chew loudly next to you is no ordinary curse. Please be sensitive to the other audience members in the theatre. If you are so adamant about having your snacks, buy it before the film starts. And don’t add to the surround sound of the theatre.

Research a little about the film.

Not all films are for everyone. And not all films made by your favourite director will be likeable by default. Think about all the things that make you enjoy a film, see if the said film provides you with all that. Go to a theatre only if you know the film is going to work for you. Of course, I am no authority to stop you from watching in support of your favourite stars/ filmmakers. But the excitement of watching a film after you’ve read a little bit about it is so much more than choosing a film with a blindfold on.

Appreciate the silences in the film, among other things.

It could be an Indian thing, but people get extremely uncomfortable with onscreen silences. They start nervously giggling or talking during such silent moments. It ruins the poignancy of the scene, and not to mention, breaks the illusion for the audience. Filmmakers think long and hard about placing silences in the film, learn to appreciate it. Take a moment to appreciate other aspects of the film too. Why was a shot filmed from a distance, why was a dialogue shot up close? Why did the director decide to have music at a certain place, but not in others? I used to count the number of edits in the first scene of a film. It always fascinated me because it is a crucial time when a film makes an impression in the audience’s minds. Try to observe things that you can’t see in the film too. While reading a book, a lot of our imagination plays itself based on context. Even if words to that effect are not found in the book. You can enjoy a film that way too.

If you are like me, support indie filmmakers; particularly women. There are so few of us who succeed in getting a theatrical distribution for our films. If you can, be sensitive about this aspect of it too. Don’t dismiss a film because a woman made it even before watching it. Support local filmmakers, get your friends to go with you.

Filmmakers practically die trying to finish a film, and all the toil is for those two hours you spend watching it on a big screen. The least you can do is to make sure you have a great experience watching it.

What film did you watch recently? Did you have a popcorn eater beside you? I hope not.

Vaishnavi is a writer, self-taught filmmaker among other things. You can read all of her work by signing up for her newsletter.

--

--

Vaishnavi Sundar
Women Making Films Pub

Writer. Self-taught filmmaker. Animal lover. I always put Women First. Wiki: bit.ly/vaishax