Girlfriends, Gear up For a Feminist Year of Films

Here are some fabulous films to watch with your gal pals in 2020

Vaishnavi Sundar
Women Making Films Pub
2 min readDec 24, 2019

--

Left Bank Pictures‎ & Pathé

2020 has already wooed the filmmaker and feminist in me. I can’t wait to watch these films with my girlfriends or all by myself. The year looks promising with so many films with female leads, many of those written/directed by women. Here are some of the trailers that caught my attention. It has a random mix of comedy, horror, drama and superhero genres. Tell me what your favourites are.

I included only those films that have an official trailer out online. Which means, there are many more that didn’t make it to this list. Not to mention, it is hard to get info on world cinema, so more surprises on the horizon.

MISBEHAVIOUR

DRAMA, PROTEST, HISTORY

THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

THRILLER, INVESTIGATION

PROMISING YOUNG WOMAN

Drama, Revenge, Thriller

BLACK WIDOW

SUPERHERO

WONDER WOMAN 1984

SUPERHERO

ROCKS

DRAMA, COMING OF AGE, COMEDY

NEVER RARELY SOMETIMES ALWAYS

Drama, Teen

PROXIMA

SCIENCE FICTION

A QUIET PLACE 2

HORROR

MILITARY WIVES

DRAMA, TRUE STORY, HISTORY

THE INVISIBLE MAN

HORROR

EMMA

DRAMA, HISTORY, BASED ON BOOKS

BIRDS OF PREY

SUPERHERO

MULAN

SUPERHERO

What are you most eager to watch? I am so thrilled about Misbehaviour, The Woman in The Window, Promising Young Woman and Military Wives.

Vaishnavi is a writer, self-taught filmmaker among other things. You can read all of her work by signing up for her newsletter.

--

--

Vaishnavi Sundar
Women Making Films Pub

Writer. Self-taught filmmaker. Animal lover. I always put Women First. Wiki: bit.ly/vaishax