Virginia Foxx: The power of “anything is possible”

House Republicans
Women Making History
2 min readMar 30, 2016

Women’s History Month is our opportunity to celebrate the incredible accomplishments of women across America– women like Jeannette Rankin, who in 1917 became the first woman to serve in Congress. Since then, hundreds of women have followed her example, becoming trailblazers themselves in the U.S. House and Senate.

For many of these women, the path to the People’s House was not an easy one.

A teacher at heart, Congresswoman Virginia Foxx of North Carolina describes in her recent FoxNews.com op-ed how she went from living in a home with no electricity or running water to making the decision to run for office. Now, she is using her experience and platform to encourage women to replace the attitude of “I’m not qualified” with “anything is possible.”

Congresswoman Virginia Foxx

“Many Americans might assume that their congressional representatives come from exclusive and rarified backgrounds. Well, my story could hardly be less rarified.

As a child, my family’s home didn’t have electricity or running water. My parents, while dedicated and hardworking, were poor with little formal education. Girls with my background weren’t likely to end up in Congress.

Fortunately, I was pushed by the right people — teachers and administrators who wouldn’t let me settle for less than my best.

In the mountains of North Carolina, I learned firsthand the power of education and its vital role in the success of every American. Although it took me seven years while working full-time, I became the first in my family to go to college and earn a degree.”

As Chairwoman of the House Subcommittee on Higher Education and Workforce, Rep. Foxx is leading efforts to modernize and reform the nation’s workforce development system.

Click here to read her op-ed in its entirety.

--

--

House Republicans
Women Making History

The United States House of Representatives Republican Conference