Women at Carroll — Meet Brandi Mandzak

How are you adding value to the JCU community?

Human Resource Generalist

How many years have you been at JCU?

2.5

What is special about JCU?

The mission of this institution is what attracted me to JCU and what holds me here to this day. I love seeing the value of a JCU education embodied in the lives of our amazing students. There is something so special about this University. It took me 16 years to find my home and I am thankful it is here.

What was your happiest moment at JCU?

I have had many happy moments these past few years, but I would have to say seeing my vision of BPD taking place on site with an employer, led by alumni and professionals and watching the light bulbs turn on for our students was so meaningful to me. I worked so hard to find an employer who could craft a powerful event for our students and seeing my vision come to reality filled me with pure joy. We have had multiple iterations of these events this past semester and I have goosebumps at each one I attend. Our students are given so many wonderful opportunities to grow and network. I wish I had these resources as an undergraduate student.

If you had a magic wand, how would you improve the JCU experience?

I would add additional members to my team to better support my students. I would love to take impactful to high-impact more quickly with the right level of support. I would also love to offer more individualized services and options to our students and employers alike.

Fun fact about you:

Family is everything to me. I am a Mom to five boys ranging from the age of 4 to 20 years old and a labrador retriever. There is never a dull moment in my home, or work, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I was fortunate to live in a time where we had five generations present as well. (And I climbed an active volcano in Sicily years ago — which is one of my coolest facts.)

--

--

John Carroll University Entrepreneurship Program
Women at Carroll

We provide a home where curious students solve big problems using their innate creativity and passion. Join us to explore possibilities