Women at Carroll — Meet Michelle Spangler

How are you adding value to the JCU community?

Budget Analyst

How many years have you been at JCU?

1

What is special about JCU?

My love for John Carroll University began when I was student here ten years ago. Students are incredibly engaged, and I appreciate the unique lens the Jesuit education provides students, faculty, and staff. As a student, I was part of the Arrupe Scholars Program, which helped me to further develop an appreciation for service and an attention to social justice. My John Carroll experience as a student inspired me to do a year of service with the Jesuit Volunteer Corps and to return a number of years later as a staff member. As a current staff member, John Carroll continues to inspire in me a desire for critical thinking and engaged dialogue with others.

What was your happiest moment at JCU?

Switching glasses with Interim President Dr. Jeanne Colleran (see picture!).

If you had a magic wand, how would you improve the JCU experience?

A focus on recruiting, retaining, and supporting international students to further diversify our student body as well as an enhanced recruitment of diverse faculty members.

Fun fact about you:

I ran the Cleveland marathon, and I have been vegan for over 5 years.

--

--

John Carroll University Entrepreneurship Program
Women at Carroll

We provide a home where curious students solve big problems using their innate creativity and passion. Join us to explore possibilities