Make the most out of life — Swinburne University Professor Anne Barodel

Ahmed Hassan
Women of Inspiration
4 min readNov 1, 2019
Professor Anne Barodel Photo: Swinburne University

Family is everything to all of us. This is the only constant in life as everything else changes. However, the level of importance changes when we have to balance it with our career. What do you think is important in the modern world, a happy family, a successful career or a well-balanced work-life career? Is the work-life balance different for men and women in our society? How these social practices affect women individually?

To find the answers to these questions, Professor Anne has been working on a different project for 30 years by now.

Anne Bardoel is a Professor, Department of Management & Marketing, Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne, Australia. Previously she has held various leadership positions at Monash University including Deputy Head of Department of Management, Deputy Director of the Australian Centre for Research in Employment and Work (ACREW), Chair of the Faculty of Business Equity and Diversity Committee, and Head of the Human Resource and Employee Relations Academic Group in the Department of Management. She is currently the Director of the Master of Human Resource Management program at Swinburne. (sourced from Swinburne research profile)

Health Organisations and Resilience Photo: Monash University

Anne has a national and international reputation as a researcher in the work and family/living area. She has published many articles in high ranking academic journals such as Sociology, Human Resource Management, International Journal of Human Resource Management, Gender Work and Organization, and Demographic Research. Her current research projects include management of work-life issues, telework, caregiving, allied health employee management, and team issues in general practice medical clinics. She has substantial experience and expertise in the development and conduct of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. She is a recipient of a National Health & Medical Research Council (NHMRC) grant (2015–2020) investigating ‘A partnership for evidence-based resource allocation and enhanced research translation in allied health’ (sourced from Swinburne research profile).

We conducted an exclusive interview with Professor Anne. Her insights on work-life balance for women and her personal connection to her research which is very inspiring and intriguing.

Tell us something about your childhood and family?

“I was born in London however both my parents are Australians. My father worked in oil refineries due to which we moved to London. We moved back to Australia when I was 2 years old. I mostly lived in Melbourne as completed my studies here and sometime in Adelaide. Due to dad’s work, we stayed in the United States of America also for about 18 months. I did complete my graduation, MBA and PhD here in Melbourne. My childhood has been very fulfilling and happy as like many others. I had very supportive parents and now a supporting husband and two daughters.”

Who inspires or motivates you the most in your life?

“I would say, my father. He had a responsible and time-consuming job, yet he took the time to encourage me for every little thing in life. Those little things gave me the confidence to take courageous steps in my life.”

it is interesting to see that most of your work is related to equity and diversity, what inspired conduct research on this?

I wanted to do research which can have an impact on people and not just for the sake of doing it. On a personal level, I had issues balancing family, work and motherhood myself. I wanted to see if I can make relationships work better from the workplace point of view.

Melbourne School of Government Photo: University of Melbourne

As a woman, how it is different to manage work, family and life?

“It is indeed different for men and women. In a country like Australia with a western mindset, it is still difficult for women with small children. Most women in Australia work part-time after the birth of their child because it is difficult to manage all at once and a child needs attention. Men work full time. That’s the basic difference. However, now things are changing but need more significant changes.”

What is the most important aspect a woman should have to pursue her life, career or family?

“Many will agree with me when I say for a successful woman in both career or at home, it is essential to have a good husband and partner. The collaboration between men and women is required to build a balance of career and family. I am lucky I have a supporting husband which made my life easier and I could think of my career even after my children were adults.”

Lastly, what you have to say to our readers or viewers about inspiration, success and failure in life?

“If you keep doing something for weeks or months together without enjoying it then look at making a change. Make the most out of life as you got only one.”

The societal practice of gender differences in both work and family life is a pullback however, Professor Anne has overcome that and have been working towards it to make easier for others.

Interview of Professor Anne (Conducted in Swinburne University)

--

--