POLKADOT x H.E.R. DAO BREAKFAST 💃🏻

Just_Luuuu
Women Of Polkadot
Published in
3 min readOct 26, 2023

Those who know me, know I’ve been involved in Polkadot for quite some time now. As a part of the KodaDot team, I have been exploring our ecosystem and learning about it intensely. Events were always a part of my work as we organized plenty of them. My first event under KodaDot that I organized was Polkadot Prague in 2022 (repeated in 2023). After that, DotBrno, meetups, and events in SubWork (our co-work space in Bled, Slovenia), NFTs in Prague, opening/closing parties for the Sub0 conference, and most recently, Koda. Onchain exhibition — an event dedicated to art.

A few weeks ago, excellent Aurora and I decided to organize our first event dedicated mainly to women. Let’s be honest: in the crypto world, web3 (so also in Polkadot), men are those who are dominating this industry. This thing is not necessarily bad. I’m not here to judge it or start a revolt against men. 😄 Of course, I would be happy if we had more women in space, but I believe we will naturally get to that point one day.

The goal of our event was to connect. It was a celebration of the strengths and capabilities of women in the Polkadot ecosystem. It provided a platform for attendees to share their experiences, successes, and insights while highlighting the incredible work they have been doing. For me especially, this was an exciting moment to connect with all the high-skilled women of Polkadot.

The event took place on Wednesday, 20 September 2023, in the heart of Lisbon, Melbourne Elouera, a breakfast place with a nice sitting area outside. Just a few steps away from the Sub0 conference.

This event was created in collaboration with ​H.E.R. DAO, a womxn focused developer DAO committed to increasing diversity and inclusion in Web3.
B
uilding great products and projects that include everybody.

Aurora started with a nice short welcome talk, and then we had an introduction cycle A moment for all our incredible attendees. So, everyone had a chance to share a bit of their story and what they were working on. Polkadot offers so much, so it was interesting to find out which projects were included. The event was in a very friendly atmosphere, and I believe we all enjoyed it. It’s the perfect start before another day during Sub0.

A lovely group picture!

And that is one of the things we did for women in Polkadot. Follow Women Of Polkadot on Twitter to learn more. ❤️

I consider these meetups important as they can help us get to know each other, and they are a perfect place to discuss future collaborations and goals. And because there is an unwritten rule women always stick together, this makes it also easier to support each other and ofc, become friends.

See you during our future events! 🚀

If you are a woman working in the Polkadot ecosystem, or you are at least interested in it, feel free to connect with me on Twitter or Telegram.

I will be more than happy to connect you with others. Follow Women of Polkadot or connect with me to add you to our Telegram group. 🥰

--

--

Just_Luuuu
Women Of Polkadot

Polkadot Senior Ambassador, Contributor at KodaDot. I am in love with NFTs, art, and Polkadot. Web3 supporter.