5 Questions with Tzirath Perez Oteiza

B.Sc. Computer Science and Software Engineering Student, Maynooth University

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks
3 min readMar 13, 2020

--

Tzirath Perez Oteiza (she/her) moved from sunny San Diego to Ireland to pursue a Bachelor’s in Computer Science. As someone who has a multicultural background, Tzirath thought it would be fun and life-changing to experience a new culture and benefit from a new education system. During her studies, Tzirath had the opportunity to complete two 7-month internships at Intel. As graduation approaches, Tzirath hopes to further her skills through a Master’s degree or Graduate position.

1. Where’s your hometown?

Queretaro, Mexico.

2. How did you get into STEM?

I had recently moved to the United States, and I, fortunately, missed the deadline to sign up for electives at my high school. I say fortunately because the engineering elective was the only class with free open spots. As a result, I was introduced to different branches of engineering. In my junior year, I had a project to build a robot with certain functions with any engineering tools I had learned. I, of course, chose programming. One day, my friends asked me, “Where do you go during lunchtime? You are never around anymore”. I knew I had to pursue a coding career when I unconsciously gave up my lunch breaks to finish that coding project. Since that day, I realized that this degree would allow me to make true contributions to the world around us.

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

I once heard the quote, “ Be grateful for those career moves that don’t happen.” I am a firm believer that the universe has a plan for all of us, and there is always a better opportunity behind a rejection.

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

As someone who has a multicultural background, having lived in Germany, Mexico, the USA, and now Ireland, I never felt part of a single community. I dreaded the question, “So, where are you actually from?” People always expect an easy answer, so I just told them what they wanted to hear. After moving away to Ireland to pursue my Bachelor’s degree, I started exploring all the traits I had adopted from all the different cultures. I realized that it was okay to be multicultural and to be confident to tell my truth and story. I had a sudden burst of motivation and undertook many leadership positions, such as becoming a Science and Engineering Senator for the student body council. I want to represent all multicultural students who may sometimes feel they do not fit in. Together, we are stronger.

5. What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

As a woman in Computer Science, I have been made fully aware of the paucity of women entrants to the degree program and the lack of outlets for the few that are here. This inspired me to start Maynooth University Women in STEM Society, a Society that focuses on creating a safe space of expression for women and minorities in STEM. I set up a mentorship program, where the society aims to give members the confidence and skills to succeed in their careers. To spark a change, it is essential that women uplift and learn from each other.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.