6 Questions with Diana Acevedo

Software Engineer, Accela

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks
3 min readMar 12, 2020

--

1. Where’s your hometown?

Valencia, Venezuela.

2. How did you get into STEM?

Since I was a child, I was passionate about technology. I liked playing videogames, and I started to ask questions, like, “How is this world behind the screen created? How is it possible to create all this?”

My curiosity drove me to start learning more about computers just for fun, with the result of knowing very clearly from age 12 that I wanted to be a developer. I started to use different tools, like basic videogame constructors, to start designing little projects that came to my mind. Since then, I have been working hard to finish my Computer Science degree and work as a developer for a big company.

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

My advice is: Never give up your dreams and trust yourself.

When I started college, I was one of only three girls in a class of around 40 students. From the very beginning of my career, I‘d been advised to quit. I was told I wasn’t going to be able to make it. But after five years, only another guy and I graduated without failing any subjects.

If you find yourself in a situation where people don’t believe in you and keep telling you how difficult it’s going to be to follow your dreams, always choose to trust yourself.

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

The political situation in my country was extremely dangerous, but I endured it to finish out my studies. Just 2 weeks after my graduation, I left my country; I was only 22 years old when I came to Ireland. I had moved to another continent, alone, with no working experience and very poor English. Just myself and 600 Euros in my pocket.

I faced this situation by not spending time being afraid. I focused on working hard, improving my English, and learning how everything worked in a world completely different from my own. And I did it! I improved my English, and I got my first job after 3 months. I have never stopped working since.

5. What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

My girlfriend and I visited Morocco last summer. While traveling through the little villages, we had the opportunity to meet the native Berber people and discover the wonderful artisan work that they do.

We were especially amazed by the rugs that craftswomen create with sheep wool. When we found the meticulous work behind each rug, we made up our minds to launch a company to support these wonderful local products and to empower local women.

As an enterprising couple, we have created a company called Moroccan Craft Rugs. We’ve built it entirely by ourselves — developed the entire website, edited all the content, managed the social media, returned to Morocco and agreed with local women to get the product directly from them, etc. We launched our site a month ago, at www.moroccancraftrugs.com. As women, we are especially proud of this project because we have the opportunity to help other women.

6. What is your favorite source of inspiration?

Joan of Arc, Ada Lovelace, and the girls from the movie Hidden Figures. Girls living a world made for men, making the difference.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.