8 Questions with Anwesha Mohanty

PhD student at Dublin City University and Trinity College Dublin

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks
3 min readMar 15, 2020

--

Anwesha Mohanty (she/her) is a PhD student at Dublin City University and visiting research student at Trinity College Dublin. Her research regards the analysis of skin conditions using AI and Computer Vision. She holds a Master’s and Bachelor’s Degree in Computer Science and Engineering.

Anwesha has a great interest in public speaking, reading science books, and writing articles on her blog. She believes that ideas build up over the years and that every one counts.

1. Where’s your hometown?

Bhubaneswar, India.

2. How did you get into STEM?

I have been fascinated with science since primary school, but I used to hate maths; I never understood their application. My Mom was the person who kept me sane about them, not just by teaching me, but also by talking about the fascinating world of STEM. She used to show me the achievements of women scientists, mathematicians, and techies in the newspapers. As a result, I was well-informed that women can do well in science despite any obstacles.

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

Professionally: be persistent and patient. You can achieve anything that seems like a dream tonight.

Personally: “I believe in believing myself.” I dip my feet into the things I am afraid of doing, which helps me stay fearless in both my professional and personal life.

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

I always find it difficult to deal with uncertainty. I expect everything to be known, to be perfectly aligned. I think that the perfect amalgamation of anxiety and confidence helps me deliver tasks on time.

5. What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

I am happy that I am doing well, and that I am very much satisfied with what I am doing in my life so far. I have studied in a local language (Odiya) medium school and grown in a local community. I am proud of thinking outside the box and sticking to my goals. I am proud of strongly saying “no” to some things, for not being an easy-going person.

6. What are you most excited about right now, in or outside of STEM?

I am excited about how women in the STEM community are growing! I am looking forward to more world-class leaders and entrepreneurs who are women.

Yet, at a time when engineers must meet the needs of a vast population of users with diverse opinions and backgrounds, the engineering workforce continues to suffer from gender disparity. I would like to see more gender-balanced classrooms in engineering fields. I am looking forward to more women advocating for gender diversity in STEM.

7. What is your favorite source of inspiration?

I am inspired by researchers’ persistence and discipline. Research requires discipline and staying so disciplined in research takes a great deal of endurance. I am inspired to work harder whenever I attend any kind of gathering with researchers.

8. What is your favorite book?

Manuscript Found in Accra.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.