8 Questions with Mudita Verma

Computer Science Student, University College Dublin

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks
3 min readMar 13, 2020

--

Mudita Verma (she/her) has been very interested in the field of computer science, particularly cyber security, since she was a child.

Her father’s keen interest in the field and constant motivation helped her make the decision to pursue computer science, despite the criticism and taunts she received from others. Her talents being recognized, and scoring 100% in the subject in school also made her hopeful about her future as a computer scientist. She hopes that everyone, especially her cousins and sisters, see her as an example and pursue their interest in science, instead of resorting to traditional gendered occupations.

1. Where’s your hometown?

Delhi, India.

2. How did you get into STEM?

I have always been intrigued by computers. I remember being hyped up for computer classes since 5th grade, as if that was the reason I attended school. I always used to go the extra mile and do a lot more than our assignments required, for example, instead of just making a webpage wih 2–3 features as instructed, I spent hours perfecting my skills and attempted to make a website instead using HTML. My love for the wonders of computers got me into STEM.

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

My father has seen the birth and evolution of computers. He has told me all about his experiences with computers of all sorts, since the very beginning. One day, he told me that when he finally had the opportunity to buy his own laptop, he purposely bought a rundown, secondhand laptop. It always had a lot of problems, and he had to invest a lot of time fixing it. He said that it was one of the best decisions he ever made, because fixing that laptop taught him everything about computers. “Hands-on learning, never complain about encountering problems. They always make you better.”

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

The biggest challenge I’m facing right now is battling depression and anxiety. My mental health is acting as a huge obstacle that’s affecting my passion and skills for coding. It is extremely tough to keep going at this moment, but I know that computer science is something that I’ve always loved and I am not gonna give up on it easily. I feel that the fact I’m still studying and facing these problems is a huge accomplishment at a personal level and a great part of my strength is due to my highly supportive parents.

5. What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

I’m proud of the project I made in my final year in school. It was a gym record management system written in C++. It was a well-written, efficient program to store detailed information about the members of a gym. I received 100-percent for it and it was praised by my then teacher.

6. What are you most excited about right now, in or outside of STEM?

I’m extremely excited about the developments in the field of Artificial Intelligence at the moment.

7. What is your favorite source of inspiration?

My parents have always been my greatest inspiration. Seeing their lives and their struggles has always motivated me to put all my heart into my work and give my best.

8. What is your favorite book or movie?

My favorite book is A Thousand Splendid Suns, and the film I love at the moment is Arrival.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.