8 Questions with Rebecca O’Neill

Project Coordinator, Wikimedia Community Ireland

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks
3 min readMar 30, 2020

--

VGrigas (WMF) / CC BY-SA

1. Where’s your hometown?

Dublin, Ireland (now!)

2. How did you get into STEM?

Through a very roundabout route, mostly through technology, as I started off training as a graphic designer, but after graduation, I got a job working in the Natural History Museum (part of the National Museum of Ireland).

From there, I became a member of WITS (Women in Technology and Science), and I started down a path to my current job with Wikimedia Community Ireland. Technology and computers were always around when I was growing up, so there is no surprise I ended up working with them!

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

Two things, which are interlinked.

My mum told me that just because you are good at something doesn’t mean you have to do it. This was invaluable to me with art in the gig/side hustle type landscape we live in, that you don’t have to “exploit” or feel like you have to do something you have a talent for if you don’t want to.

Secondly, my dad always says that no learning is ever a waste. This is very liberating when being flexible about how and when you learn; a skill or knowledge might not seem immediately useful to you, but you never know when it might be. There is also a great satisfaction in learning for learning’s sake sometimes.

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

Navigating the world of post-2008 as a new university graduate was a huge challenge. For me, I was lucky that I got a job in the museum right after I graduated, but the ripple effects on the economy and opportunities in the years after the crash were difficult. There was a lot of navigating free labor, how to spend your time and resources, and dealing with the fact that many people in their 20's were stuck in a career-holding pattern, with no prospect of advancement. I think the emotional toll of that on many people my age will stay with us. Most of us made it through, but not necessarily unscathed. I channeled my energy that may have otherwise been used in chasing career advancement/promotions into side projects, such as running social groups/meet-ups and completing an MA part time.

5. What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

It has to be finishing my PhD. When I completed my MA, I was convinced that a PhD was something that I needed to do. I didn’t see myself in an academic career, but I felt I could do it, so I wanted to at least try. In the end, that PhD led me to the job I have now and a huge international circle of friends and colleagues that I got to know through the Wikimedia movement. I have met amazing people, learned fascinating things, and gotten to see some fantastic places all because of this unique community, and I’m very grateful and proud I believed in myself.

6. What are you most excited about right now, in or outside of STEM?

In these strange times, the huge effort behind writing articles relating to COVID-19 on many language Wikipedias, as well as all the hackers and makers involved in the open community developing parts and equipment to help those effected by the pandemic.

7. What is your favorite source of inspiration?

The Women in Red Twitter stream, which documents many of the new or improved articles about women from across the world and time on Wikipedia. If you ever need reassurance that everyone faces their own challenges, and that often people find a way around or through them, you’ll find examples there!

8. What is your favorite book?

Jane Eyre, always!

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.