8 Questions with Vanshika Dhyani

Bachelor’s of Science Physics with Astronomy and Space Science Student, University College Dublin

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks
3 min readMar 11, 2020

--

Vanshika Dhyani (she/her) is your average 20-year-old, who believes that LinkedIn in the best app out there. Okay, maybe she is not your average 20-year-old. She spends her time collecting stories from books, TV shows, and people. She likes to read and write for her college newspaper. She enjoys reading about history of science and dreaming of becoming a pilot. But most of all, she loves physics. People who know her say that they always knew she was meant to pursue the study of the Universe. Her parents, however, still believe that she should become a banker, like them.

Vanshika has different plans. She has got it all planned out, with 2 more years to finish her Bachelor’s before enrolling in the MSc space science program offered by UCD, almost immediately. And then she will look for a job in mission control.

1. Where’s your hometown?

I’m from Bangalore, India

2. How did you get into STEM?

It was always meant to be STEM, and I never even thought about pursuing any other subject. When I was three years old, I made my first acquaintance with Newton. My dad read out his 3 laws from a space book we were reading-a book we’d read every night-and he explained them to me. I thought the third one was hilarious: “every action has an equal and opposite reaction.” My dad said, “For example, if you slap someone, they will slap you back,” and I thought that was the funniest thing in the whole universe. Little did I know, my dad had just introduced me to a field of science that would become a lifelong obsession.

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

If it’s meant to be, it will be. I listen to Bebe Rexha’s song on repeat, and it keeps me going.

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

I think moving to another country at 18 years old was a giant leap for me. Almost everyone wanted me to stay back in India and do my Bachelor’s, including my mom. My dad was really supportive of my decision and believed in me right from the start.

5. What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

Earlier this year, I wrote an email to Donna Strickland, the 2018 Physics Nobel Laureate. (She is only the 3rd female to be awarded this prize.)

Donna has been my inspiration for years, and in the email, I told her how thankful I was for her contribution to the field. I also asked her for an internship. Even though I did not get an internship out of it, I did get a reply that said that she thought my email was “the most entertaining approach to a job request,” which was more than anything I could ask for.

6. What are you most excited about right now, in or outside of STEM?

I missed the moon landing, but I’m really looking forward to seeing humans step on Mars in real time.

7. What is your favorite source of inspiration?

Definitely the Nobel Prizes. I’ve been obsessed with them since I was little. I love learning about the laureates and how they came upon their discoveries. I watch the ceremony live, and it’s what I look forward to, every year. It’s like watching the Oscars for science.

8. What is your favorite book or movie?

My favorite movie is 3 Idiots, which is a Hindi movie about three friends and their time at college. I remember watching it in the theater in 2009, when I was only 9 years old, and over the next decade I would watch it whenever I needed motivation or comfort.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.