Meet the Women of Silicon Docks

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks
25 min readMar 15, 2020

Produced by Kendrick Umstattd and Lea Coligado

With St. Paddy’s Day right around the corner, the Women of Silicon Valley team hopped across the pond to highlight women and genderqueer folks in Ireland’s Science, Technology, Engineering & Math (STEM) scene, as well as Irish techies based abroad. From students to self-branded “Rebels,” these folks got where they are today through sheer diligence and perseverance — not just the luck of the Irish. ;-)

In alphabetical order…

1. Anwesha Mohanty, PhD student at Dublin City University and Trinity College Dublin

Anwesha Mohanty (she/her) is a PhD student at Dublin City University and Visiting Research student at Trinity College Dublin. Her research regards the Analysis of Skin conditions using AI and Computer Vision, and she holds a Master’s and Bachelor’s Degree in Computer Science and Engineering.

Anwesha has a great interest in public speaking, reading science books, and writing articles on her blog. She believes that ideas build up over the years and every one counts.

Hometown

Bhubaneswar, India.

How did you get into STEM?

I have been fascinated with science since primary school, but I used to hate maths; I never understood their application. My Mom was the person who kept me sane about them, not just by teaching me, but also by talking about the fascinating world of STEM. She used to show me the achievements of women scientists, mathematicians, and techies in the newspapers. As a result, I was well-informed that women can do well in science despite any obstacles.

Full interview

2. Aoileann Banks, Global Events Program Manager at Google

Born in Dublin, Aoileann (she/her) graduated from Trinity College with a degree in Computer Science, Linguistics, and French. Not feeling the passion to remain in that field, she tried her hand at accounting and consulting and spent four years at KPMG.

Following two years volunteering and traveling the world, Aoileann returned to Ireland to work with Google. Bringing her Computer Science and finance background to the fore, she found a company culture where her broad talents could be put to good use.

Hometown

Dublin, Ireland.

How did you get into STEM?

I studied Computer Science in undergrad. I went into university totally blind to what Computer Science was all about, following in the footsteps of my cool older brother who was a software engineer and neglecting to realize that the people besides me in class were literally OBSESSED with maths and computers — to the extent they were already programming their fridges to tell them when they were out of milk….or so it felt! I felt very much out of my depth at the start. :-(

After university, I didn’t want to be a programmer, so I joined a graduate program to train as a chartered accountant and worked in tax; I learned both of these paths were NOT for me. I chose to make the most of both experiences, and to be honest, I gained so much insight of what I didn’t want to do. Ultimately, both ‘wrong paths’ merged to lead me to the happy path I’m on now, working in finance in a tech company.

Full interview

3. Aysegul Uysal, Safety Investigator at Facebook

Aysegul Uysal (she/her) is a Safety Investigator for Dangerous Orgs and Individuals team at Facebook Ireland. After studying Political Science and Statistics as an undergrad, and Middle Eastern Studies as a grad student, at the University of Chicago, she developed a passion for studying, understanding and fighting violent extremism and related security threats.

Before moving to the tech industry, she gained experience in academia and international organizations such as NATO PA. Outside of her work, she loves knitting, traveling, and listening to podcasts.

Hometown

Bursa, Turkey. It’s only 2 hours away from Istanbul and known for its famous Iskender Kebab.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

Finding my voice as a young, Turkish woman has not always been the easiest — especially moving to many different countries, navigating different cultures, and making myself a space of my own. I have leaned on many amazing mentors to advocate for me when I could not, and to empower me when I felt lost. I was very lucky to encounter these mentors, and I strive to do the same for other people who share similar experiences.

Full interview

4. Coral Movasseli, Rebel at Girls in Tech, Inc.

Coral Movasseli (she/her) is the Managing Director of Girls in Tech Dublin, the largest dedicated platform for women in STEM and entrepreneurs in Ireland. She created it because she believes greater inclusivity & diversity in STEM is the path to alleviating inequality.

Hometown

Toronto, Canada.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

Saying no to people hasn’t come easily for me in business. It’s difficult, especially if you need someone’s help or money. But you have to be willing to say no and walk away. You’ll be better for it. I’ve learned this the hard way.

Full interview

5. Diana Acevedo, Software Engineer at Accela

Hometown

Valencia, Venezuela.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

The political situation in my country was extremely dangerous, but I endured it to finish out my studies. Just two weeks after my graduation, I left my country; I was only 22 years old when I came to Ireland. I had moved to another continent, alone, with no working experience and very poor English. Just myself and 600 Euros in my pocket. I faced this situation by not spending time being afraid. I focused on working hard, improving my English, and learning how everything worked in a world completely different from my own. And I did it! I improved my English, and I got my first job after 3 months. I have never stopped working since.

Full interview

6. Eimear Crotty, Computer Animation and Visual Effects Student at Bournemouth University

Eimear Crotty (she/her) studied at University College Cork, where she received her Bachelor’s of Science in Computer Science in 2017 with First Class Honours. She did work placement at Teamwork.com in Cork and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.

From 2017 to 2019, Eimear worked as a Site Reliability Engineer at Google. She is now pursuing a Master’s of Science in Computer Animation and Visual Effects at Bournemouth University, hoping to find out more about that tantalizing link between art and technology.

Hometown

Cork, Ireland.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

Starting to study Computer Science. It seemed that I was leaps and bounds behind everyone else; most other students in my class had years of programming experience behind them, and there I was on my first day of University asking the person beside me how to turn on the computer. (Thanks, Evan.) Although I feared that people would find out that I didn’t know much, I decided to be bold and ask questions. I knew there were other people who had the same questions as me. That choice to embrace asking questions helped me get to where I am today.

Full interview

7. Eleni Mangina, Professor at University College Dublin

Professor Eleni Mangina (she/her) carried out her PhD work at the University of Strathclyde (UK), Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, working on Agent-based applications for intelligent data interpretation. She holds an MSc in Artificial Intelligence from the Department of Artificial Intelligence at the University of Edinburgh in the UK and an MSc in Agricultural Science from Agricultural University of Athens in Greece.

Prof. Mangina moved to Scotland from Greece in 1997, then to Ireland in 2002. She is currently the Deputy Vice Principal within the UCD College of Science, as well as the Chair of Athena SWAN for gender equality application for the School of Computer Science. In her free time she enjoys playing with her three kids, running with her husband, flying her drone, baking, and knitting.

Hometown

Dublin, Ireland.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

I have been working in male-dominated environments since 2002. As a female, I have crafted a meaning of persistence that involves both courage and compassion, along with research integrity and authenticity. After the period of three consecutive maternity leaves (the first one in my School), I was challenged to reinvent myself, as I had to be compared with male colleagues who had never taken a career break. I decided to do what I truly loved, so I focused on training in Robotics and emerging technologies. These technologies have seen extraordinary outcomes in the last five years of my teaching and research portfolio. Looking back, it was a challenge, but choosing to do what I love was not a struggle.

Full interview

8. Fatemeh Golpayegani, Assistant Professor at University College Dublin

Fatemeh Golpayegani (she/her) is an Assistant Professor in the School of Computer Science at University College Dublin. She received her BSc in Computer Engineering from Alzahra University, Iran, in 2010; MSc in Software Engineering from Sharif University of Technology, Iran, in 2012; and PhD in Computer Science from Trinity College Dublin, in June 2018. She was a postdoctoral researcher at Distributed Systems Group and Future Cities research group at Trinity College Dublin, before joining UCD in February 2019. Prof. Golpayegani’s current research focus is on developing AI-based algorithms to address problems such as climate change and sustainability. She is a co-chair of women at computer science UCD where she actively promotes Equality, Diversity and Inclusion.

Hometown

Dublin, Ireland.

What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

Think outside the box. As women in STEM, we are living in a world that is designed by men, for men. We need to approach problems in innovative ways, and, in our own ways, think of solutions that are not common and bring ideas that represent us.

Full interview

9. Hannah Dobson, VP Entertainment & Media at Enterprise Ireland

Hannah Dobson (she/her) joined Enterprise Ireland in September 2016 and is responsible for advising and supporting the growth of a world-class portfolio of Irish companies across the animation, VFX, production, gaming, VR/AR, and broader entertainment industries.

Hometown

Dublin, Ireland.

What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

Connections, connections, connections…so many of the people I’ve met in my (relatively short) career to date have been instrumental in my success. A mentor once advised me to build relationships with as many people as possible, as you never know who might be valuable in the future. I think we sometimes underestimate how willing people are to help if they are in a position to do so.

“I think we sometimes underestimate how willing people are to help if they are in a position to do so.”

Full interview

10. Ilaina Khairulzaman, Head of International Public Engagement, Training and Marketing at Sense about Science

Ilaina Khairulzaman (she/her) joined Sense about Science shortly after completing her research MSc in immunology from Trinity College Dublin. While doing her MSc, Ilaina was involved in many public engagement activities, including teaching teenagers laboratory techniques, competing in FameLab, and performing in Bright Club. After a year of bioinformatics research, Ilaina realized she was much more passionate about making societal impact through speaking about science than she was about doing the science.

Hometown

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

I think my biggest challenge was moving to Ireland from Malaysia alone. I mean, it’s a distance of 6,000 miles, and Malaysia and Ireland couldn’t be more different in terms of climate, culture, religion, accents, and people. I was also only 21. I was figuring out my life, including who and what I wanted to be. I was away from my family. It was really tough. There were times I wanted to give up and just go home, but I decided to keep pushing. I kept pushing to make friends who ended up becoming like family; to network and make connections. In difficult times, I remembered why I left and what I wanted to achieve. I looked at it as an adventure, a chance to keep exploring and climbing.

Full interview

11. Jennifer Petoff, Senior Program Manager and Head of Site Reliability Engineering Education at Google

Jennifer Petoff (she/her) has had a wide range of career experiences at Google and beyond. She considers herself a poster child for non-traditional careers for scientists. Jennifer is currently working in Dublin, Ireland, as a Senior Program Manager for the Site Reliability Engineering (SRE) team. She leads the SRE EDU program globally and is one of the co-editors of Google’s bestselling book Site Reliability Engineering: How Google Runs Production Systems.

Hometown

Buffalo, New York, USA. (But I’ve been living in Ireland for almost 10 years now.)

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

I remember being super excited about studying science when I was in high school. I vividly remember telling my high school chemistry teacher that I was planning to major in chemistry when I got to college. She literally *laughed out loud* and said, “You don’t have the patience to study chemistry.” I could have taken that to heart and lost my enthusiasm or doubted myself, but instead, I used that moment for inner strength. “I’ll show her!” I thought.

Not only did I go on to major in chemistry, but I completed a PhD in chemistry, and that grounding in STEM has proven to be an amazing foundation for my career. I may not be actively working in the lab, or even in the chemical industry anymore, but STEM gave me the building blocks that I could transfer across a huge range of roles and industries. Applying the scientific method, drawing conclusions and defending ideas with data, perseverance (90+% of what you try in research doesn’t work), being a careful observer, and learning how to troubleshoot a vast array of situations are all foundational skills that I use every day in my job as a program manager in tech.

Full interview

12. Laura DeBenedetto, Product Policy Associate Manager at Facebook

What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

I was part of a landing team in Tokyo to implement electrical capacity Demand Response programs to balance the grid after the Fukushima accident. I was the only person on my team to spend time with the customers who would participate in the program and was able to design demand reduction plans that suited each client. This led to a successful pilot of the program, and the grid operator (TEPCO) expanded the pilot to a permanent program after the first 6 months of testing.

Full interview

13. Liliana Pasquale, Assistant Professor at University College Dublin

Liliana Pasquale (she/her) is an assistant professor at University College Dublin and a funded investigator at Lero — the Irish Software Research Centre. She obtained her master and PhD in Computer Engineering from Politecnico di Milano. Her research focuses on engineering software and cyber-physical systems that satisfy security requirements and comply with existing data protection regulations. Liliana is actively promoting security in the university undergraduate curriculum and has developed a new module on secure software engineering currently taught at UCD.

Hometown

San Severo (FG), Italy.

How did you get into STEM?

It was quite accidental. :-) Although I have always liked computers and technologies, I felt it was not something for “women”. I was studying to obtain a high school diploma from a Teacher Training School in my hometown in the South of Italy. One day, my English teacher told my mother I could study engineering, in her opinion. That planted a seed in my mind and gave me some confidence to pursue a career in Computer Engineering.

Full interview

14. Lorraine McGinty, Professor at University College Dublin

Professor Lorraine McGinty (she/her) carried out her PhD work in the School of Computer Science at University College Dublin in the area of personalized route planning using collaborative data. Since 2003, she has been an academic member of staff, joining only four female academic staff at the time. Much of her research has concentrated on development of personalization techniques in a variety of real-world user domains. In her spare time, Prof. McGinty enjoys the outdoors, eating out, music, reading, and comedy. Her priorities in life are her 18-month-old son and her husband. As a family, they enjoy frequent trips to the West of Ireland.

Hometown

Achill Island, off the west coast of Ireland.

What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

I feel it’s a rare privilege for anybody to be afforded the opportunity to do something for their University that nobody has done before. In my case, that privilege was successfully establishing the first model of negotiated learning in our University. Our award-winning MSc in Computer Science by Negotiated Learning program has been a wonderful success, attracting hundreds of applications annually from students based worldwide seeking flexibility in the design of the curriculum they study. I was very proud to later be asked to take on the role of Director of Taught Graduate Studies with a view to restructuring our school in this area. It was a great deal of work, but very enjoyable. I am especially proud of the fact that our taught graduate student numbers had reached nearly 500 at end of my term in that role, up more than 400% in a five-year period!

Full interview

15. Maryam Shafiq, Manager at Facebook

Maryam Shafiq (she/her) leads the Community Operations Escalations team at Facebook, Dublin. With a background in Finance, Data Analytics, and Operations, she made the jump to become a people manager last year, which she thoroughly enjoys.

A Karachi native (Pakistan), her most memorable experience was volunteering as a math teacher in an orphanage, and later at a school for blind children. Her journey has so far taken her to Istanbul, for her MBA and a role at Coca-Cola, Munich and London for Amazon, and then Dublin to work for Facebook. In her spare time, she enjoys the delightful live music scene in Dublin, cooking up wild cumin- and chili-based recipes (she misses the spicy food tremendously), hiking, and occasionally surfing.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

Getting a sponsored work visa at the start of my career abroad. Having Pakistani citizenship makes it difficult to land a job abroad, since you need an employer to sponsor a special work visa in most countries, and quite often your application is filtered out as a result. During graduation, it was disheartening when my CV and grades were at par with, or even above, that of my peers who were locals, but they kept getting multiple offers, while I had a host of rejections in my email inbox. I mastered the art of scanning LinkedIn for new roles every morning, connecting with possible hiring managers. At the same time, I took additional courses and internships to enhance my skillset for a competitive edge. There was no shortage of self-doubt, but the key was to keep going. Every disappointment led to a new wave of motivation, and that persistence definitely paid off. I am very happy that large tech companies like Facebook do not filter candidates based on nationality. As a manager, I can see firsthand how we at Facebook strive to be diverse and inclusive in our recruitment, which makes me proud to work here.

Full interview

16. Mudita Verma, Computer Science Student at University College Dublin

Mudita Verma (she/her) has been very interested in the field of Computer Science, particularly cybersecurity, since she was a child. Her father’s keen interest in the field and constant motivation helped her make the decision to pursue Computer Science, despite the criticism and taunts she received from others. Her talents being recognized, including scoring 100% in the subject in school, made her hopeful about her future as a Computer Scientist. She hopes that everyone, especially her cousins and sisters, see her as an example and pursue their interest in science, instead of resorting to traditional gendered occupations.

Hometown

Delhi, India.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

The biggest challenge I’m facing right now is battling depression and anxiety. My mental health is acting as a huge obstacle that’s affecting my passion and skills for coding. It is extremely tough to keep going at this moment, but I know that Computer Science is something that I’ve always loved; I am not going to give up easily. I feel that the fact I’m still studying and facing these problems is a huge accomplishment at a personal level, and a great part of my strength is due to my parents.

Full interview

17. Pranchal Narang, Computer Science Student at University College Dublin

Pranchal Narang (she/her) is a 2nd year Computer Science student in UCD. She is passionate about promoting equality, diversity, and inclusion in the field and currently works closely with UCD Women at CompSci as their student co-chair, undergraduate representative, and secretary, to work towards this shared goal. Pranchal was awarded the Google Women Techmakers Irish Universities Scholarship 2020 for these efforts and for her academic achievement. She hopes to inspire other women to pursue STEM careers with the work she does.

Hometown

Mountmellick, County Laois.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

One of my biggest fears was public speaking. The thought alone was enough to give me the chills. So, when I was asked to make announcements in front of 100+ people, my first instinct was to shy away from it. However, a good friend of mine once told me that the best way to get over your fear is to face it, so I did. I agreed to do it. That day, I was really nervous, I messed up a few sentences, but when I came out of the room, I was really proud of myself for even going in there in the first place. That feeling overpowered everything else. As a result, I decided I would take every opportunity I got to practice the skill and improve little by little, learning from my mistakes. After some time, I went on to talk at events with 200+ attendees, some of which were Microsoft employees, professors, and staff! I also got to be a part of a panel discussion at Google, not something the old me would’ve imagined doing, but I did! It was all because I took that initial leap of faith and pushed myself out of my comfort zone.

Full interview

18. Rachel Slater, Software Engineer at Microsoft

Rachel Slater is a Software Engineer at Microsoft. She has a Master’s in Computer Science from University College London. She grew up in Ireland and currently lives in Vancouver, Canada. Years after studying Medicinal Chemistry at Trinity College Dublin, she went through many twists and turns that led her to discover Computer Science.

When she’s not coding, she’s hiking Canada’s incredible mountains and/or drinking too much red wine. She posts about everything in between at @secretlifeofcode.

Hometown

County Donegal, Ireland.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

Going back to “square one” in my mid-20’s wasn’t the plan I’d made for myself. And every aspect of it was a challenge. At 23, I started working for a small tech company in Ireland as a Product Manager (for which I had none of the required skills), because my coffee shop job wasn’t paying the bills. It was there that I first observed people (guys) coding, and I was intrigued. I started investigating and was soon trying to teach myself to code at night, after my 9–5. I left that job after 2 years, when I got the chance to attend a coding bootcamp in San Francisco. I jumped in head-first with zero preparation. After getting pretty much straight A’s my whole life, it was my first experience of being bottom of the class and struggling desperately. I’d given up all I knew in order to be there (quit my job, moved out of my apartment, left Ireland and all of my family and friends), so it was not an option to not “get it”. I worked my ass off and had amazing friends who helped me immensely. After failing to get a visa to stay in the US, I moved back home, into my Dad’s place, to figure out what to do next.

Full interview

19. Rebecca O’Neill, Project Coordinator at Wikimedia Community Ireland

Hometown

Dublin, Ireland (now!)

What is your favorite source of inspiration?

The Women in Red Twitter stream, which documents many of the new or improved articles about women from across the world and time on Wikipedia. If you ever need reassurance that everyone faces their own challenges, and that often people find a way around or through them, you’ll find examples there!

Full interview

20. Regina O’Connor, Recruiter at Woebot Labs

Regina O’Connor (she/her) comes from the Dingle Peninsula in Ireland and was raised on a sheep farm. From an early age, she was helping on the farm and spent a good part of every day outdoors. She attended the local school and went on to study Sociology and Geography as an undergraduate in NUI Maynooth, then pursued a Master’s Degree in Women’s Studies at University College Dublin.

Hometown

Dingle Peninsula, Ireland.

What is a piece of advice you’ve found especially useful?

Find a good mentor. A mentor does not have to be someone working in the same industry as you, or even the same career. The Mentor should be someone you can trust to give good advice, as well as a friend in the long term, someone to be a casting vote when you are undecided. Maybe you find this person through your network. Maybe you use a resource for the search. The search will be a little like dating; you may have to chat with many people before you find the right match, and you may not always find that someone who appears “good on paper” is the match. But after some time, you will find the right person, and they will be invaluable for you as you grow your career and possibly your company.

Full interview

21. Samantha Slater, Policy Specialist at Google

Samantha Slater (she/her) is a Policy Specialist at Google Dublin by day and a keen pole dancer by night. After studying a B.A in English Literature, she experimented in the world of advertising and NGOs for a number of years and then took a hard pivot into the world of tech policy.

Hometown

County Donegal, Ireland.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

Moving from a women-centered NGO, where I was solely driven by the pursuit of justice for disadvantaged women, to Google.

I was overwhelmed and insanely proud that I had managed to get a job at Google in a really interesting area, but I was also worried and felt guilty that maybe I had “sold out” and gone to “that side.” Influenced by the recent negative conversations around tech companies, I ignored the potential that technology could have for good. And, while I adored the work of the NGO, I grew disillusioned with the lack of upward growth and the instability of funding for my job. I had to succumb to the fact that I wasn’t going anywhere and that I needed to move. That was difficult to accept, as I was incredibly emotionally invested in the work.

I got the opportunity to interview at Google. I couldn’t believe how interesting the conversations I had at the interview were. Since I’ve started, I’ve moved past that internal conflict as I can actually understand, embrace, and work on tech policy initiatives that are positive for users. Seeing how driven my colleagues are to do the right thing is motivating. I really did not expect that, and I can honestly say I’m loving it so far.

Full interview

22. Shubhangi Karmakar, 4th Med, MSc. Molecular Medicine, at Trinity College Dublin

Shubhangi Karmakar (she/they), 23, is completing their medical degree in Trinity College Dublin after an intercalated MSc. in Molecular Medicine, specializing in genomics and neuropsychiatric disorders. Their own research lies in neurodevelopment, neuropsychiatry, and pediatric and adult intensive care.

They are the Policy Lead of “Who Helps The Helpers: A National Student-Led Policy on Supporting Medical Students with Disabilities, Mental Illness and Chronic Illness,” as a Vice President of the Association of Medical Students Ireland. This builds on longstanding editorial experience as General Manager of the Trinity Student Scientific Review in 2019/2020, Healthcare and Design Editor of both the Trinity Postgraduate Review in 2018/2019, and the Trinity Student Medical Journal in 2017/2018.

Shubhangi is profiled as a future-shaping leader in Irish and global science; as a “genius of science and engineering”; and as a leader in Disability, Ethnic and Gender Diversity in academia, medicine and society by the New York Times, Irish Times, and Silicon Republic, among others. They were awarded “Woman of the Year” by the Lord Mayor of Dublin and nominated for JCI’s Ten Outstanding Young People in the category of Humanitarian and Voluntary Leadership in 2019.

Hometown

Dublin, Ireland.

What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

From one of the best guides in my life, my therapist on-and-off for 5 years now, I got the advice to never compromise on myself and valuing my own work, time, and needs.

I’ve been notoriously poor at setting aside “me time” all my life, perhaps because I never seek out solitude and quietude. I’d much rather be helping someone build something, review something, or look after themselves any time of night or day than know what to do with myself and 5 minutes of silence and rest! Because of this, for a long time I also undervalued my time and the work I produced, because “I have to do something anyway.” This was damaging and landed me in unbalanced, exploitative dynamics that happen to many young creatives, advocates, and D&I consultants around the world.

Over the last year, learning how to distinguish between giving myself to people for support and giving away all of myself for people to use has allowed me to set better boundaries and standards for how I’m treated. I’m creating more professional relationships where people realize they aren’t giving me opportunities as a favor but that I’m adding value to their organization or events with my contribution and deserve to be treated as such. I’ve found this to be highly useful.

23. Tzirath Perez Oteiza, Computer Science Student at Maynooth University

Tzirath Perez Oteiza (she/her) moved from sunny San Diego to Ireland to pursue a Bachelor’s in Computer Science. As someone who has a multicultural background, Tzirath thought it would be fun and life-changing to experience a new culture and benefit from a new education system. During her studies, Tzirath had the opportunity to complete two 7-month internships at Intel. As graduation approaches, she hopes to further her skills through a Master’s degree or Graduate position.

Hometown

Queretaro, Mexico.

How did you get into STEM?

I had recently moved to the United States, and I, fortunately, missed the deadline to sign up for electives at my high school. I say “fortunately” because the engineering elective was the only class with free open spots. As a result, I was introduced to different branches of engineering. In my junior year, I had a project to build a robot with certain functions with the engineering tools I had learned. I, of course, chose programming. One day, my friends asked me, “Where do you go during lunchtime? You’re never around anymore.” I knew I had to pursue a coding career when I unconsciously gave up my lunch breaks to finish that coding project. Since that day, I realized that this degree would allow me to make true contributions to the world around us.

Full interview

24. Vanshika Dhyani, Physics Student at University College Dublin

Vanshika Dhyani (she/her) is your average 20-year-old, who believes that LinkedIn in the best app out there. Okay, maybe she is not your average 20-year-old. She spends her time collecting stories from books, TV shows, and people. She likes to read and write for her college newspaper, as well as reading about history of science and dreaming of becoming a pilot. But most of all, she loves physics. People who know her say that they always knew she was meant to pursue the study of the Universe. Her parents, however, still believe that she should become a banker, like them.

Vanshika has different plans. She has got it all planned out, with 2 more years to finish her Bachelor’s before enrolling in the MSc space science program offered by UCD, almost immediately. And then she will look for a job in mission control.

Hometown

Bangalore, India.

What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

Earlier this year, I wrote an email to Donna Strickland, the 2018 Physics Nobel Laureate. (She is only the 3rd woman to ever be awarded this prize.) Donna has been my inspiration for years, and in the email, I told her how thankful I was for her contribution to the field. I also asked her for an internship. Even though I didn’t get an internship out of it, I did get a reply that she thought my email was “the most entertaining approach to a job request,” which was more than anything I could have asked for.

Full interview

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.