7 Questions with Laura DeBenedetto

Product Policy Associate Manager, Facebook

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks
2 min readMar 24, 2020

--

1. Where’s your hometown?

Somerville, Massachusetts.

2. How did you get into STEM?

I have always loved figuring out complex systems and using data to drive solutions. This has been a driving force in my career so far, as I have worked on software application, product implementation, and policy development.

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

Never be afraid to ask questions.

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

My first role when I graduated college entailed working with senior field electricians. There was not a high level of trust when we first began working together. To add to that, we were often working remotely. This forced me to think creatively about how to build that trust. I became proactive and asked to come to site visits to better understand their work and to drive alignment with the work that I did on the software side. This led to really productive conversations and laid the foundation for our teams’ working relationships.

5. What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

I was part of a landing team in Tokyo to implement electrical capacity Demand Response programs to balance the grid after the Fukushima accident. I was the only person on my team to spend time with the customers who would participate in the program and was able to design demand reduction plans that suited each client. This led to a successful pilot of the program, and the grid operator (TEPCO) expanded the pilot to a permanent program after the first 6 months of testing.

6. What are you most excited about right now, in or outside of STEM?

Training for my second ultra trail marathon and my first full Ironman triathlon this summer.

7. What is your favorite book?

A Little Life.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
Women of Silicon Docks

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.