10 Questions with La Triece Crawford

Clinical BioProcessing Technician at Genentech & Founder of Black Professionals in STEM

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions
6 min readAug 3, 2018

--

La Triece Crawford is a Clinical BioProcessing Technician at Genentech. Born in Southern California, La Triece graduated the University of California, Merced with a Biological Sciences degree. She is also the founder of Black Professionals in STEM, a Bay Area based organization that stemmed from her passion for science and connecting people.

Throughout her life, La Triece has always found things to keep her engaged whether it be playing musical instruments, leading student organizations, or volunteering for social justice programs in the community. La Triece’s parents, older sister, and the rest of her family are what inspire her to continue to reach new heights each and everyday.

  1. When did you know that you wanted to work in tech?

Being in the Tech Industry was never my intention. Actually for as long as I could remember, I had dreams of becoming a cardiothoracic surgeon. Medicine, the human body, and the science behind it all, just fascinated me. My parents noticed that I had this spark at an early age so they bought every toy and computer game they could think of to nurture my curiosity of how things works. My interests shifted from medicine to science and technology when I had the opportunity to work in a genetics lab at my university. Seeing firsthand how technological advancements help deepen our understanding of the world around us made me realize that biotech was definitely the industry for me.

“Seeing firsthand how technological advancements help deepen our understanding of the world around us made me realize that biotech was definitely the industry for me.”

Once I graduated school and moved to the Bay Area, I first worked at a small, tech startup in Palo Alto. A few years later, I transitioned to my current role making medicine as a Clinical BioProcessing Technician at Genentech, a pharmaceutical biotech company. I absolutely love being a part of an organization that is at the forefront of innovative science. I believe that the next stage of my career will be working on Diversity & Inclusion within this same realm to ensure that people from all walks of life have access to STEM opportunities.

2. Who is a role model that you look up to?

While I admire many people in my family, I would have to say that I look up to my mother the most. I was blessed with extremely supportive parents and my mom was a great example of what a mother should be. No matter what comes her way, she has the ability to find the silver lining. She is also caring, encouraging, and just a tad bit nosy. One day in the future, I hope to be that type of mother to my own children.

3. Where is your hometown?

I am from San Bernardino. California. A place where there are extremely hot summers, great Mexican food, and beautiful views of the mountain ranges that surround it. That’s home.

4. What is a struggle that you’ve faced and how did you handle it?

I recently lost a drastic amount of weight in just 5 months. During my sophomore year of college, I decided to cut off all of my damaged hair and focus on taking better care of my natural hair. At this time my only goal was having fuller, healthier hair but this positive change had a cascading effect in other aspects of my life. I picked up a better skincare routine, paid closer attention to my diet, and become more physically active. My energy levels skyrocketed and my clothes began to fit me differently. I loved the subtle results that were coming through, so I challenged myself to kick it up a notch by going for a 30 pound goal!

The first few months of trying to lose weight were definitely the most trying. I had to unlearn lifelong habits like eating when I was bored or choosing easy fast food over home-cooked meals. It was easy to stay focused on the time when the results were coming rapidly, however motivation was a bit tougher to find when things plateaued. There were even times when I started gaining back the weight that I had just lost. It was extremely frustrating.

I had no idea that this weight loss journey would be more mental than physical. What I did know was that if I wanted to accomplish this goal, I would have to exercise an enormous amount of willpower, more than I had ever shown in the past. I dug deep and found the strength that allowed me to supersede every expectation that I had set for myself; resulting in a 40 pound weight loss overall and the journey still continues! Now I reflect on this time whenever I face a challenge. I know that if I succeeded in overcoming my self doubt, then nothing can stop me from accomplishing the things I set my mind to.

“I dug deep and found the strength that allowed me to supersede every expectation that I had set for myself; resulting in a 40 pound weight loss overall and the journey still continues!”

5. What is something that you are immensely proud of?

I come from a very large family that uses any excuse to break out the grill and celebrate over a BBQ. There are laughs, cries, and most importantly there is strong support system. It has come to my attention that I tend to recreate these systems of support everywhere I go. This is mainly because networks are essential to our growth and success as individuals. Before someone gets to find out what you know, it’s often who you know that opens doors of opportunity for you.

The need for stronger networks in the professional sense was the driving force behind the creation of my organization, Black Professionals in STEM. I am tremendously proud of how much BPS has grown in just one year. Bay Area professionals are able use this platform to build thriving connections. The organization focuses primarily on professional advancement, personal development, and community engagement. Through collaborations with institutions such as Stanford University and Oakland-based nonprofits, we provide members with opportunities to put these pillars into action.

Some of our favorite membership events are our monthly happy hour mixers. The casual environments allows attendees to meet new people and easily communicate their skills to those who might be looking to hire. We’ve even seen partnerships form between guests looking to develop apps and members who are full stack engineers looking for new projects. It’s very exciting and this is only the beginning.

6. What’s something that’s been on your mind a lot lately?

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about how I “protect my peace”. I love finding new ways to relieve stress such as meditating, painting, and dancing. These outlets not only help keep me grounded but they also allow me to express myself creatively.

7. Favorite food?

Mac & Cheese! Nothing beats a cheesy dish of macaroni and cheese baked to perfection. Plus it reminds me of being at my grandmother’s house for the holidays with all my cousins. True comfort food.

8. Favorite book?

The Hate U Give is currently my favorite book. The main character navigates code switching in different space and her father is trying to figure out the best way to improve his city. I relate to both of their realities.

9. If you could try another job for a day, what would it be?

International food blogger is at the very top of my list. I would love to travel and experience the world by having dinner with families in different places on the map. Not only would I get to take cool food pictures but I’d get the opportunity to share the families’ stories with the entire world.

10. If you could give your 18-year-old self a piece of advice, what would it be?

I would remind my younger self that there is power in the words she uses. I’d also suggest that she looks in the mirror each morning and says something positive about herself. Reciting positive affirmations in the morning has helped me find a whole new appreciation and love for myself. Lastly I would tell my younger self to never doubt her dopeness! Having big dreams and high ambitions can often be accompanied by the fear of failing. However, if you set those fears aside and continue to work hard, you can accomplish more than you’ve ever thought possible.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.