10 Questions with Oladoyin Oladapo

Creator at Girl to the World

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions
5 min readAug 26, 2017

--

Oladoyin Oladapo is the creator of Girl to the World, the premiere series of her multicultural children’s content company, Idunnu Studios. Her goal is to change the landscape of children’s content by creating culturally inclusive, thought-provoking, and pedagogical products that inspire kids while fully engaging them. Her first series, Girl to the World, celebrates diversity and girl power.

Oladoyin’s entrepreneurship journey began during her junior year at Wesleyan University, where she co-founded Joomah, an HR software company for West African employers. Since then, Oladoyin has worked as a Content Producer and Social Media Strategist at Snapchat, Time Inc., ESSENCE, Lyft and for dozens of small businesses. With the help of her team, she plans to release 50 more books over the next 2 years.

  1. How did you first become interested in technology?

During my junior year of college, a friend came to me with a great idea about building software for Ghanaian business owners. I was passionate about Africa and entrepreneurship, but I knew very little about tech. I spent that year watching in awe as my technical co-founders built amazing products from scratch and decided that I wanted to learn how to code. I haven’t looked back since.

2. Who’s been a role model you look up to?

I look up to my dad. He was very strict but he pushed us to be our best every single day. He read all the time, so I read all the time. He prayed all the time, so I prayed all the time. He played a super active role in everything I learned and accomplished. He trained me for every standardized test, every school competition, and every church program. He showed me how to be an entrepreneur before I know what the word meant because he inculcated in me the grit necessary to win in life. He is just the perfect example of a father.

3. Where is your hometown?

Brooklyn, New York (but also sort of Lagos, Nigeria)

4. What’s a challenge that you’ve faced?

My biggest struggle in life has been a battle with my inner self; fighting my own demons. When I look back on my childhood, I realize that I probably pushed myself too hard. I was insecure about being the best, winning all the time, and being the smartest person in every class. Everyone knew me to be the girl who supposedly “exceeded at everything” and I found myself constantly needing that validation. So much so, that it became a part of my identity. I could not fail, or get anything besides an A in a class because I felt like winning defined me; that it was all I had.

“I experienced this constant need to be better than everyone else and the more I tried to prove it to people, and perhaps to prove it to myself, the more insecure I became.”

This followed me throughout high school. I experienced this constant need to be better than everyone else and the more I tried to prove it to people and perhaps prove it to myself, the more insecure I became about my capabilities and intellect. I describe this as a challenge because I believe it was an obstacle to my happiness. My self worth was rooted in this elusive race to perfection, I was rarely content with my accomplishments or with my life. This made the first year of college rough; I had to unlearn so much of what I thought about myself in order to make it through. I had to learn the hard way because it was so much harder for me to be best all the time when I got to a top college. This is still a challenge for me, but I’m grateful that I had a support system and went to a university that helped me find validation within myself and not my accomplishments.

5. Describe a time you were proud of yourself.

The launch of Girl to the World Books is my most significant accomplishment. I was beyond proud of myself. I started this venture during my junior year. I wanted to create culturally relevant and pedagogical children’s content that empowers and celebrates diversity. For 4 years, I worked on the 8 books, 4 activity books (pre-launch), and a toy prototype (design phase).

“I started this venture during my junior year. I wanted to create culturally relevant and pedagogical children’s content that empowers and celebrates diversity.”

I worked with teachers and children every day for months on character and story development. I also worked with designers, contracted several illustrators, editors, publishers, and distributors. I even fully funded the project with my own savings. I have done other things as an entrepreneur, but this was the first thing I pulled off largely by myself; my baby. The response has been amazing and overwhelming, especially from children. I couldn’t be more proud.

6. What’s something that’s been on your mind lately?

I’ve been trying to answer one question for myself: How do I define impact? Up until recently, I measured it according to the lives changed as a result of my work as an entrepreneur or a community server, but these days, I’m wondering if the way I make the most difference in this world can be something as small as helping a homeless person on the street recuperate, and in turn that that homeless person finds the cure to cancer. I’m trying to find impact in every little thing, including things I used to overlook.

7. Favorite food?

I don’t believe in favorites. Even in kindergarten, I would always challenge authority on assignments that made us pick our favorite colors, movies, etc. I just feel like it places unnecessary pressure on those of us who like a lot things equally and don’t ever want to choose. I digress, If I absolutely had to choose a favorite food, it would be white rice with buka sauce (Nigerian). It’s heavenly.

8. Mac or PC?

Mac (but for my phone, Android all day)

9. If you could try another job for a day, what would it be?

I would be a developer, I think they are coolest people ever. I am currently learning how to code. I don’t know if I’ll ever use it professionally, but to one day be one of the coolest people ever would be awesome.

10. If you could give your 18-year-old self a piece of advice, what would it be?

R-E-L-A-X. Take a chill pill. You may not be a millionaire by 21 like you planned, but you are in for one heck of an unforgettable ride. Enjoy every joyous and painful moment.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.