8 Questions with Arielle Zuckerberg

Partner at Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions
Published in
3 min readJun 13, 2016

--

Arielle Zuckerberg is a partner at Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers focusing on early-stage consumer investments.

Prior to venture capital investing, Arielle was a product manager at Humin (acquired by Tinder), Google, and Wildfire Interactive (acquired by Google).

Arielle studied Philosophy and Computer Science at Claremont McKenna College.

  1. When did you know you wanted to be in tech?

I was a senior in high school around the time Tumblr first came out, and I really got into making my own Tumblr themes and experimenting with HTML and CSS. That was the gateway, but I was primed long before that. Technology was a huge part of the environment I grew up in. My father always had the most cutting-edge technology in his dental office, and he taught my brother how to code in middle school.

2. Who’s your role model?

It’s a tie between my parents, Sheryl Sandberg, and Beyonce.

3. What’s a challenge you’ve faced in your career journey, and how have you dealt with it?

There are people who assume I am where I am in my career because of my last name and gender, and therefore, that I am not qualified or don’t deserve to be here. That used to really get to me. I’d waste a lot of time and energy thinking about how I could prove those people wrong. But after a while you realize your time is much better spent listening to the people who believe in you and striving to reach your full potential, vs. trying to prove yourself to the people who are quick to make assumptions.

But after a while you realize your time is much better spent listening to the people who believe in you and striving to reach your full potential, vs. trying to prove yourself to the people who are quick to make assumptions.

4. When’s a time you felt immense pride in yourself / your work?

One of my angel investment portfolio companies is an amazing company called Locol. Its mission is to revolutionize the fast food industry by bringing affordable, wholesome, and delicious food to neighborhoods that are currently devoid of such options. At the grand opening of their new Oakland location, one of the team members asked me how I’d heard about Locol. When I told him that I was an investor, he hugged me and said, “You changed my life. You saved my life. Thank you for believing in us. God bless you.” Before Locol had hired him, he had been struggling to support his family in Watts. Now, he works on the operations side and helps open new locations. That was such a powerful moment. And all I had to do was believe in the vision and write a check.

5. What’s something you want to get better at?

I’m a nervous, awkward public speaker. I know I’ll only get better by doing it more often, but it’s quite painful right now.

6. Comfort food of choice?

Pizza and beer!

7. If you could try another job for a day, what would it be?

I’d love to try designing the lighting for a music festival or concert, especially for a DJ or electronic musician.

8. If you could give your 18-year-old self one piece of advice, what would it be?

Prioritize spending time with people who energize you instead of the people who drain you. And stop talking and thinking about yourself so much. Actually listen to others.

Meet more Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.