8 Questions with Dorcas Adhiambo

Co-founder at SokoNect

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions
3 min readSep 18, 2016

--

Dorcas Adhiambo is a co-founder of a startup in Kenya called Sokonect, which links small-scale farmers to buyers of agricultural products. Sokonect was founded in 2013 and has since won several awards. In 2014 Dorcas moved to Kisumu to help found the tech hub Lakehub. There she volunteered as a community manager. In 2015 she joined Girls in Tech Kenya as a board member and managing director. Due to her involvement in bridging the gender gap in technology, she was given the role of Diversity Lead at Lakehub in 2016, which means she comes up with policies and programs to increase the participation of women in technology. Connect with Dorcas on LinkedIn.

  1. When did you know you want to be in tech?

After high school, I had no idea what I wanted to do. I was so confused. So I set out to visit one of the local universities, and there I learnt about a course called Business Information Technology. It was the perfect combination since in high school I used to excel in business and also loved technology.

2. What gets you out of bed in the morning?

The different programs I am running in the tech ecosystem. Currently, I’m organizing a developers conference that will take place in western Kenya.

3. What’s a challenge you’ve faced in your career journey?

Earlier this year, I held a 3-month training program in Kisumu, Kenya for 50 girls between the age of 9 and 19. It was a real challenge because the girls had never used computers before, and I only had one laptop. I set out to look for volunteers who would help me run the course. I managed to get five dedicated volunteers, and twice a week we‘d train the girls for 15 weeks. At the end of the program, the girls were not only able to navigate the computers but also create simple mobile apps.

My major challenge now is getting resources for the different programs I run. For example, for training the girls I lack computers/laptops, which means I have to ask people in the hub to lend me theirs for about an hour (which is usually a huge inconvenience to them.) There are times we don’t have internet at all in the hub because we don’t have the cash to pay for it. And then there are times we lack both internet and laptops, so I use my laptop and tether internet and conduct a two-hour training session for about 25 girls.

4. Describe a time you were proud of yourself.

When I first successfully organized a women in tech conference of about 300 people with a budget of $500. From then on, nothing has ever been impossible for me. All I have to do is be really obsessed with my goal or vision and addicted to making it come to life.

5. What’s something you want to get better at?

I would love to become a motivational speaker…and bungee jump Victoria Falls.

6. Comfort food of choice?

Ice cream.

7. Favorite book?

Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg.

8. If you could give your 18-year-old self a piece of advice, what would it be?

Believe in yourself more.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.