9 Questions with Kristen Faris

VP of Industry Strategy at Checkr

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions
Published in
4 min readJul 15, 2018

--

Kristen is Vice President of Industry Strategy at Checkr, where she partners across the organization to deploy solutions designed to streamline the background screening process for some of today’s most innovative and forward thinking organizations.

Kristen founded her own screening firm at the age of 22 and was among the first in the industry to web-enable the process. Her company was acquired by the largest player in the space, First Advantage, in 2006.

Post-acquisition she spent over 10 years at First Advantage in various sales and customer success leadership roles, most recently driving strategy as SVP of Solutions. She has deep experience in scaling organizations to meet the unique needs of enterprise customers. She cares deeply about creating a fair and transparent process for all jobseekers, regardless of their past. Alignment on mission is what landed her at Checkr, where they take a very unique approach to balancing the need for fairness and safety. She enjoys spending her free time outdoors with her family in her hometown of Santa Cruz, California.

1. When did you know you wanted to be in tech?

I knew that I wanted to get into tech when I got my first Apple 2C in elementary school. I was hooked as soon as a teacher taught me Apple Logo. While I didn’t pursue programming as my path, I’ve always been fascinated by the efficiencies you can achieve in business through automation.

I remember when I hired my first software engineer, I asked her if she could solve a very complex workflow problem we were having. Her response was, “Anything is possible, it’s just a matter of how much time and money you want to invest.” It never ceases to amaze me the incredibly complex problems that can be simplified, or even solved, with technology.

2. Where’s your hometown?

Santa Cruz, California.

3. What’s a time you faced a struggle, and how did you overcome it?

I took several years off after I sold my business when my children were young. I found it very difficult to re-enter the workforce having been self-employed for most of my career. Employers were concerned about my lack of traditional corporate experience and questioned whether I could make the transition from entrepreneur.

After submitting what felt like hundreds of resumes with no success, I had to completely rethink my approach and accept I would need to prove myself, likely by starting in role that I’d be grossly overqualified for. I knew, however, that if given a chance I would shine in a more traditional corporate environment.

I took the plunge and accepted an individual contributor role in account management, making less money and holding less responsibility than I’d had in almost ten years, but I was determined to prove I could be a key member of any leadership team if given the opportunity.

4. What’s something you’ve done that you’re immensely proud of?

In a past job, during a particularly difficult quarter, I was asked to find a way to cut several hundred thousand dollars from my budget. The obvious path was to cut heads, but we were already running very lean and I had a high performing team with no easy choices about who to let go. I spent several weeks running through all the possible scenarios, and none of them had a positive outcome. I met with my managers, and we brainstormed creative ideas to cut costs but that only got us partially there.

It finally occurred to me that by giving up my bonus for the year we could bridge the gap. We were able to keep the whole team employed, which enabled us to exceed our goals for that quarter and the year. By making a small personal sacrifice, I was able to significantly impact the lives of several individuals in a very positive way. It was well worth the cost and something I’d definitely do again if presented with a similar challenge.

5. What’s something that’s been on your mind a lot lately?

Sustainability. Resources today are precious, whether it is water, electricity, food, or even time. There’s so much talk about finding balance, but we all know that in tech that can be difficult. I’ve been thinking a lot about ways to create a more sustainable pace, where I can accomplish all of the things I want to, both personally and professionally, without creating a burnout.

6. Favorite food?

Sourdough toast.

7. Favorite book?

The Black Swan. It really makes you think about your blind spots both in business and personal life.

8. If you could try another job for a day, what would it be?

Preschool teacher, I love the innocence and energy of young children. Watching the wonder in their eyes when they get to experience things for the first time is priceless.

9. If you could give your 18-year-old self a piece of advice, what would it be?

Slow down and focus on the things that really matter. You won’t remember that missed deadline in 20 years, but you will definitely regret missing the day your child kicks his first soccer goal. I love Byran Dyson of CocaCola’s speech about five balls:

“…Imagine life as a game in which you are juggling some five balls in the air. You name them work, family, health, friends and spirit. And you’re keeping all of these in the air. You will soon understand that work is a rubber ball. If you drop it, it will bounce back. But the other four balls — family, health, friends and spirit — are made of glass. If you drop one of these, they will be irrevocably scuffed, marked, nicked, damaged or even shattered. They will never be the same. You must understand that and strive for balance in your life.”

Like what you read? Follow Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
10 Questions

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.