#IamRemarkable……Because I’m worth it!

Aastha Patel
Women Techmakers Nagpur
3 min readAug 5, 2020

I am Remarkable………………. Yes, indeed I’m……realised this fact by attending this fantastic event #IamRemarkable! Find it out if you are or not…….so let’s begin with this!

I recently attended Google’s #IamRemarkable workshop, an initiative that supports women and underrepresented groups in being comfortable talking about their achievements and challenging social perception around self-promotion.

It was a great opportunity for me to attend this event because I come from a place where people still give importance to boys in spite of girls outperforming boys several times. This stereotype of gender bias and orthodox culture still prevails in some or the other corner of the society. So according to me it’s really important to have these kind of initiatives so the social norm could end.

It is very aptly said that,

“Accomplishments do not speak for themselves”. I completely relate this quote to my life and situations because I have shied away several times talking about my own views or sharing my accomplishments in public because I thought that by doing so would make me less humble and it would look more of bragging. But when I attended this event, I realised that I was completely wrong. Because, Accomplishments do not speak for themselves, and this is a fact. Until and unless you are a high-profile public figure, no one is going to research into your contribution and highlights your accomplishments for you. You have to do it by yourself!

As a part of the #IamRemarkable workshop, all participants wrote their accomplishments and split them into two groups: Personal and Professional. I wrote mine and it felt great to write them down and share them with everyone in the group. This activity really boosted my confidence. It made me feel that I am respecting myself enough to recognise what I have accomplished so far.

So, there were few accomplishments that I have also penned down. At the beginning, I felt I did not achieve anything great till date, but going through this session I realised whatever I have achieved is a great thing for me and this motivates me to achieve even bigger. So, here they are:

Professional:

· #IamRemarkable because I am the first-female to be an engineer in my family.

· #IamRemarkable because I learnt speaking Marathi and English fluently, being my second language and coming from a Hindi speaking background.

· #IamRemarkable because I have always loved writing and wanted to make career in it but my parents opposed me, but I made my parents proud by winning first prize in national level writing competition and this was indeed a big achievement for me.

· #IamRemarkable because I am helping the underprivileged section of society through my startup “CropCare” who are not given enough importance in spite of their major contribution in society i.e. “farmers”.

· #IamRemarkable because when I take ownership of something, I take it to the finish line. I am a doer; I don’t wait for other people to do it for me.

Personal:

· #IamRemarkable because I have become bolder and braver than earlier in expressing my opinions and views.

· #IamRemarkable because I have seen major failure and setbacks in my 12th grade and I am continuing my higher education by overcoming that failures.

· #IamRemarkable because I am persistent and don’t give up easily.

· #IamRemarkable because I am also teaching how to speak English to my parents. Though everyone learns from their parents, I have also learnt a lot but I am proud that I am also contributing in their learning and it gives me immense satisfaction.

· #IamRemarkable because my parents never discriminated between a girl and a boy and have always given me good upbringing and quality education in spite of being a girl and I m extremely proud of this fact.

· #IamRemarkable because I know eight languages and can speak it fluently.

The idea to start every sentence with “#IamRemarkable” and complete it with your accomplishments is a great thing and I loved this thing the most about the event. This event encouraged and filled me with great zeal of enthusiasm and motivated to achieve my goals.

I strongly recommend everyone to attend this session once for sure and do practice the follow up exercises as it helps a lot to boost one’s confidence!

I am Aastha and #IamRemarkable!

--

--

Aastha Patel
Women Techmakers Nagpur

I write about- Technologies, my experience, and everything that inspires me| Software Developer | WTM Ambassador | Technophile