The Fashion of Wine Has Tormented Our Lives

About another humanity, or rather the lack of it.

Araci Almeida
Women United

--

Designed with canva.com

One day, my teacher asked us to write a text about fashion's influence on our lives. My pen was adept at criticism, and I promptly began expounding upon this frivolous world's horrid aspects.

I found the rituals of imitation an affront to individuality. I detested even more trends that perpetuated themselves for a short period or took root like wild weeds in our lives.

Therefore, writing about fashions and trends and readily tearing them down was easy for me. In my eyes, and the eyes of many of my peers, fashion, at least the clothing and accessories that spread throughout the school, was a sign of vanity, exhibitionism, and, above all, an unjust competition among us all in school—a competition that brought some closer to the final goal and others starting too far away.

The expensive pants of some, the very cool shoes of others, the gold or silver earrings, or any other type of adornment like the expensive backpacks they wore on their backs, all these shining objects were the false shell that masked the true identity behind those who wore them.

But those who wore clothes until they wore out and who sometimes, for lack of time to wash them, appeared with a stain or two in the playground…

--

--

Araci Almeida
Women United

Trying to be the next Annie Ernaux but failing it every day