“Women, Right?” — Yet Another Misogynistic Comment

In the middle of 2024, sexism continues with its micro-aggressions. It’s more than time we sent it to hell

Araci Almeida
Women United

--

That’s me, laughing at all the fools who think that I am less for being a woman.

Last Sunday, I went for a long walk with my husband on one of the most famous boardwalks in my country.

We were well equipped, wearing shorts, t-shirts, hats to shield ourselves from the sun, appropriate sneakers, and eager to tackle the route. For my husband, it was his first time, but for me, it was the third, so I knew the ins and outs of the place quite well.

I could almost say I was an expert on that trail, having made the round trip of over twenty kilometers in one afternoon, climbing stairs, walking up and down mountains, breathing fresh air, stretching my legs, and climbing over 700 degrees of stairs.

Last Sunday, even though I knew what to expect, I was excited and joyful because it would be the first time I did that path alongside my husband.

But yet again, as it seems joys in this country don’t last long, we hadn’t even started yet when the security guard at the entrance checking tickets promptly managed to anger me and ruin the morning with his sexist and misogynistic behavior.

--

--

Araci Almeida
Women United

Trying to be the Portuguese Annie Ernaux or Elena Ferrante