My “Women Who Code” Journey

Kinsey Ann Durham
Women Who Code
Published in
2 min readAug 21, 2014

I attended my first Women Who Code event over two years ago in Denver, Colorado. I was working in the advertising industry and was interested in transitioning to writing code. My boss at the time told me about Women Who Code. I went to the first meet up ever held in Denver. It was an intro and overview to programming. I had no idea what was going on, but I somehow felt smarter after attending!

I attended a Railsbridge workshop after that and my life changed forever. I changed my career and started writing code full time. It was much harder said than done. I cried a lot and pushed myself in ways I never knew I could. But honestly, it has been the most rewarding thing I have ever done.

Fast forward two years. I am now passing off the Director of Colorado Women Who Code position to an amazing lady, Louisa. After attending the first meetup, I wanted to get more involved. I, eventually, became the Director of Colorado. The meet up group has over 800 members and we hold two monthly meet ups and a handful of study groups. It was awesome to be in a leadership position and truly feel that you were making a difference.

I am, now, transitioning into leading onboarding efforts for networks across the globe. I have been talking to women from all over the world, who are interested in bringing Women Who Code into their communities.

I am so grateful to have Women Who Code as a place, not only to connect with like-minded women, learn more, but to be able to be empowered and grow as a leader. Its goal is to connect 1 million women in tech by 2019. I hope that a number of these women will, also, be in positions of leadership in their communities.

So, go ahead! Be that person in your community that steps up, that joins a movement, and becomes an empowered leader!

--

--

Kinsey Ann Durham
Women Who Code

Developer at GoSpotCheck, co-founder @Kubmo, @BridgeFoundry board member