“The Audition”

An excerpt from my Upcoming Memoir

Michelle Monet
Women Writing Memoir

--

I am underneath Liberaces red feathers

CHAPTER 3:
“The Audition” or “Scared Shitless”

MY TALENT AGENT CASEY FIELDS talked me into going down to the Imperial Palace Hotel on the Las Vegas strip for my first audition to impersonate Barbra Streisand for the show Legends in Concert.

She told me to meet her at the front of the hotel.

I was early. I was always early.

Casey drove up in a 1971 ugly green sedan station wagon. She proudly and slowly stepped out of her car in a bright pink 3-piece business suit. She held a Pepto-Bismol pink briefcase in one hand while juggling a coffee in the other.

Her long bleached blonde hair was pulled up high on her head in a tight bun with little piglet curls surrounding her face. She was in her mid 50’s but seemed she was trying to appear 30. She is the stereotypical Las Vegas character, I thought.

“ Good morning Michelle. How are you feeling about the audition today? You know, they’re gonna love you…”

“Honestly, I’m shaking…”

“That’s good. That means you’re ready!”

We walked into the huge showroom. The first thing I noticed was the large amount of red and black paisley high backed cushioned booths. It all looked…

--

--

Michelle Monet
Women Writing Memoir

Musician. Author. Poet. Seeker. Currently writing Showbiz Memoir and Broadway style Musical. My 5 books are on Amazon. Contact: 1020monet@gmail.com