My First Experience as a Tech Speaker at WomenTechMakers Chennai

Namitha Sandeep
WomenInTech Chennai
3 min readAug 16, 2019

On 10th August morning, I was excited as well as nervous that I didn’t eat my breakfast and trusted on two Britannia biscuits. As I was not much familiar with Chennai, I had to follow the words of “Google Ji “ to reach Altimetrik, Tharamani. As we ( Madhura and me) followed it, we reached our destination, but the only difference was we had to climb a security wall to reach; ) Hence giving a chance for a meme post “ When you believe Google Maps too seriously” LOL!!!

The beautiful day began with an introduction to Women TechMakers by Ms.Bhavani, who was greatly responsible for giving me this opportunity.

Just wanted to take a minute to tell you that your advice has helped me Bhavani Ravi.

Being the youngest female speaker at Women TechMakers, it was my pleasure to give a brief talk on Introduction to Image Processing to the audience. I am unable to explain how excited I was when introduced as a volunteer of Women TechMakers and a speaker. It had a lot of mixed feelings :) I started off telling about how I got introduced to Image Processing, followed by comparing Computer Vision and Image Processing, how it works, purpose, techniques used, and Applications along with a funky and creative accidental output (wasn’t the expected output ) which I got while executing a code which my friend had shared while we were doing an assignment. Concluded by sharing my few thoughts and experiences on the project I did along with my teammates Malavika Venkatesh and Madhuragj.

This was the code that led to the discovery of this accidental output

I = imread(‘coin.jpg’)I = rgb2gray(I)I1 = imtophat(I,strel(‘disk’,10))%figure,imshow(I1)I2 = imadjust(I1)%figure, imshow(I2)level = graythresh(I2)BW = im2bw(I2,level)%figure, imshow(BW)C=~BW%figure,imshow(C)D = -bwdist(C) %Distance TransformD(C) — -Inf %Narrowing the local minimaL = watershed(C)
imshow(label2rgb(L,’hot’,’w’)

The below picture is that accidental output which took my heart

“There is no substitute for hard work. Never give up. Never stop believing”-said by Hope Hicks has been proved from an inspiring story of Ms. Soumya from Altimetrik. Other speakers from Altimetrik spoke on Data Analytics using python, which was interesting to hear. Finally, had a fun session on Project Development and Entrepreneurship by Prof. Dorai.

I got to interact with a lot of people on variant topics, which was in fact fun and enduring. Felt very happy when they shared their feedback about my talk and some people even gave me some tricks to improve it even more. It is always exciting when you get to know about new stuffs and have a deep conversation on the same. I was able to experience that excitement in the WTM event.

A collage sharing the fire that lit every soul

Overall, it was a great day and an amazing experience. Thank you to Women TechMakers for giving me this opportunity. Thank you Altimetrik Pvt Ltd for providing a beautiful workspace, which made the event even more interesting. Finally, thanking everyone who has been a great support.

--

--

Namitha Sandeep
WomenInTech Chennai

A simple kid with a complex brain and a 10 feet hole in the cheeks curious about new stuffs.