Header image by Sora Shimazaki

4 Strategies to Stand Out in Your Next Technical Writing Job Interview

Congrats! You’ve scored your first tech writing job interview. Now what?

Chloe Ip
4 min readMay 18, 2023

--

My first job interview for a technical writer position was a failure. I was clumsy and awkward. When the hiring manager asked me basic questions like “What’s your documentation process like?” and “What tools do you use?”, I didn’t have answers ready. It was partly due to being unprepared and partly due to being unaware of the current trends and technology used to produce technical documentation.

I inwardly panicked when the potential employer showed me a list of programs they wanted to be documented, with the timeline quantified down to the hour.

I gaped at the timeline.

Did we learn in university about how to budget a timeline down to the hour? And all these questions about tools, their pros and cons, and their prices? In short — I blanked at most of the questions.

But this experience taught me that sometimes you don’t know what you need to know until you need to know it.

To help you avoid the same mistakes I made during my first tech writing interview, I noted down some pointers I hope you’ll find useful.

Know your work methods, your script…

--

--

Chloe Ip

Avid reader, writer, traveller. Life-long learner. Helping others succeed in tech comm by sharing career tips, resources, and other practical insights.