Breaking Barriers: My Journey as a Woman in Tech(so far)

Beatrice Murage
Women in Technology
3 min readOct 18, 2023

In the rapidly evolving landscape of technology, being a woman in the field has been both exhilarating and challenging. As I reflect on my journey, I can’t help but marvel at the strides I’ve made and the hurdles I’ve overcome. Here’s a glimpse into my personal odyssey as a woman navigating the vast world of technology.

Introduction:

I vividly remember my first day in a Software Engineering classroom, surrounded by a sea of male faces. Little did I know, this moment would fuel my determination to break stereotypes and prove that gender is never a limitation. In a class of about 50, 70% were male and only the other 30% were women. Luckily, the society has evolved to be more accommodating as compared to few decades ago. therefore, our learning experience was not majorly affected. Our male colleagues treated us fairly, maintaining respect and non-bias.

Embracing Passion:

My fascination with technology began early in school, fueled by an insatiable curiosity about how things work. I was introduced to the field by a colleague in the sector who at the time, was a freelance web developer. This meant that my curiosity was triggered to follow the path of web development, mostly focused on basics like HTML. Once I had mastered that (thanks to w3schools.com), I proceeded to get drawn into CSS and all its abilities and animations. By this time, I was hooked.

In the face of numerous challenges, being a woman in the field of technology can be an uphill battle, marked by biases and skepticism that many of my peers did not have to contend with. The hurdles I’ve encountered in the 4 years I’ve been in the industry have not always been blatant; instead, they have often manifested as subtle discrimination, which, although not always overt, is just as damaging. In a male-dominated environment, there seems to be a constant, unrelenting pressure to prove individual abilities and competencies. This pressure has not been merely professional; it was deeply personal, chipping away at my confidence and self-belief.

One of the most formidable adversaries I faced, and continue to face, is imposter syndrome, a phenomenon where one doubts their accomplishments and feels like a fraud despite evidence of skill and achievements. In a world where women are underrepresented, imposter syndrome often creeps in, making me question my worth and whether I truly belong in the tech industry. The specific feeling of not measuring up to my male counterparts was a constant presence, and overcoming it demanded an immense amount of mental and emotional strength.

Despite the daunting nature of these challenges, I refused to succumb to them. Instead, each obstacle became a catalyst for my personal and professional growth. Every instance of bias and every bout of imposter syndrome only served to strengthen my resolve. It fueled my determination to break down barriers and challenge the status quo. I channeled these experiences into a driving force, motivating me to not only prove my worth but also pave the way for other women aspiring to thrive in the tech world.

Looking ahead, I see a transforming landscape. More and more women are embracing technology, fearlessly leading groundbreaking projects, and fearlessly challenging the established norms, evident by measures I’ve experienced such as CodeForGood which JPMorgan sponsors to ensure inclusivity and diversity in technology and MobiGirlz by eMobilis. The future of tech is no longer a distant dream; it’s becoming diverse, inclusive, and vibrantly alive. This future fills me with hope, a hope for a world where gender doesn’t limit opportunities.

Conclusion:

Reflecting on my journey as a woman in tech, I acknowledge the rollercoaster of emotions, the challenges that continue to shape my resilience, and the victories that fuel my passion. I wouldn’t change a single moment of it. Together, we, as women in tech, stand as pioneers. We can break barriers, shatter stereotypes, and pave the way for generations to come. As for me, I’ll keep working towards beating all stereotypes and reaching my highest potential. I can’t wait to rewrite this article when I’ve scaled the heights in my career. I’ll leave you with this mantra I continue to light my path with,

You don’t need to see the entire staircase to take the first step!

--

--

Beatrice Murage
Women in Technology

Software Engineer with an interest in writing on interesting technology practices