From English to AI: How Writers are Crafting the Future of LLMs

Faithe J Day
Women in Technology
8 min readAug 9, 2024

--

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Even though I primarily identify as a writer, over the years, I have found myself in roles that focus more on data science and technology. While you would expect to see the usual programmers, engineers, and software developers in these spaces, I have often been pleasantly surprised by the number of artists, creatives, and English majors that make up the realm of data science and technology. English majors were so common that I began advising and doing presentations on how I made my way from receiving a BA in English and a PhD in Communication to working as a research fellow and content writer in data science and, most recently, as an artificial intelligence trainer.

After reflecting on my journey into the digital world, I’ve noticed that people with similar backgrounds often feel underrepresented in the technology field. After reading the comments on Jeff Hayward’s essay “Experience May Be a Liability in the AI Writing Job Market,” I realized that many writers perceive AI as a potential obstacle to their career growth and prospects. While it’s a valid concern that artificial intelligence may replace much of the standard content writing found in advertising and marketing, writers and creatives can also use their experience in the development of AI for the social good.

--

--

Faithe J Day
Women in Technology

Writer, Creator, and Educator. Millennial and Internet Expert. Learn more at https://fjday.com