From Python Projects to AI Endeavours

Exploring the transition from web development to artificial intelligence

Mya Ahmed
Women in Technology
3 min readApr 16, 2024

--

Photo by Ilya Pavlov on Unsplash

It has been 8 months into my coding journey and I have learned many different algorithms and the fundamentals of programming. I can create well designed python projects that focus on applying different algorithms.

I have also learned how to make websites using of HTML, CSS and Java Script. These were projects that I worked on outside of uni. The thing is, the uni curriculum doesn't really spend time helping you make project but rather it teaches you the fundamentals of making projects.

Thats what makes computer science a difficult degree. In order to excel in this field, you need to spend majority of your time practicing and making your own projects.

Learning HTML and CSS was so easy compared to Python. But to be fair, python was my first language; you what they say about your first language, “it is always the hardest.”

The more time that goes by, the more time I spend thinking about what I should specialize in. Initially, I was draw to the idea of learning how to code websites. My plan was to get so good at coding websites that I can start an online business with that skill. however, I soon came to realize that making website is not hard for the average person anymore. If I started specializing in that 10 years ago, it would have been amazing.

AI is a new form of technology that has evolved the way we work as a society.

Have you realized that too? It came out of no where and it can be so useful. Its capabilities are endless and holds so much potential.

The problem is that since it is so new, they are not a lot of resources to learn. I am having difficulties on building a clear pathway on how to build AI algorithms. Building AI algorithms requires a deep understanding of complex algorithms and research.

Despite this big obstacle, I continue to learn to the best of my abilities. I have just finished my semester of university so I have some time to fully focus on AI and the fundamentals of it. I plan to focus on ways to implement a large set of data and records using AI-driven methods.

In my uni life, I have come across some really kind and successful TA who has given great guidance. I have told them that my goal is to do something in the space of AI and data science but I have no direction. I asked what they think I should do.

Here are some pieces of advice I have gotten from my TAs:

1. Build stupid Projects

  • Build projects that you think are fun. The TA showed me one of his first full stack website; he built a whole premier league styled website. He told me that this website made his employers, at his internship, realize that he finds enjoyment in coding. He built a website that drives in revenue and therefore, stood out to hiring managers.

2. Find the first step

  • He said to start with anything. If it was reading a book about AI coding then thats what you do. But the main point is that you just start. Make clear goals and make something you think is cool.
  • Some examples of projects he told me included chatbots, image recognition thing, transcribing certain language. The options are endless.

3. Think Big

  • The third thing I learned is to think big. He told me that it might take a long time. He said that when he built his website the first time, he started over around 10 times and each time was heartbreaking because he felt as if he got so far each time.

The real challenge in tech is learning a whole new series of information. It is like learning a whole new language that combines all the keys on your keyboard. From mastering Python in uni, I plan on applying my skill into the field of AI.

--

--