I used ChatGPT in a job interview

How technical interviews are changing in 2024

Mia K
Women in Technology

--

Image created by the author with DALLE & Photoshop

My name is Mia. I am a web and software developer and have been working full-time as a freelancer for almost 6 years now. I sometimes meet hundreds of new clients a year, meaning I’ve had to get used to completing lots and lots of interviews.

The interviews are as varied as they are frequent. Some are straightforward and short Zoom meetings where I simply share a link to my portfolio, while others involve rigorous rounds of technical interrogations and leet-code-esque challenges. This week, however, I encountered an interview unlike any I experienced before: I was specifically asked to use ChatGPT to aid in a coding challenge.

The Unusual Request

Typically, AI tools like ChatGPT are banned in technical interviews. The rationale is straightforward: interviewers want to evaluate your skills, not the capabilities of an AI model.

This standard approach ensures that the candidate’s own knowledge and problem-solving skills shine through.

Therefore, when asked to use ChatGPT, I was both intrigued and somewhat apprehensive. It felt almost like cheating or stepping into a trap, even with explicit permission to use the tool. When this interesting request came up, I realized it…

--

--