I Was Laid Off From My Tech Job Today

And it might just be the best thing to have happened

Elishah Virani
Women in Technology

--

Photo by Matt Noble on Unsplash

I got the dreaded e-mail at 9:00 a.m. In big, bold letters, I was informed of our organizational restructuring and that my position was impacted and eliminated as a result. I reached out to my Director informing him of the e-mail which was followed by a hasty 15-minute call going over the lengthy ‘Separation Agreement’ that would be sent to me for signature after 24 hours.

What I expected to be a regular Thursday ended up completely altering my plans and trajectory for the next few months in a matter of moments. I saw both professional and personal milestones fall to the wayside in an instant as the letters on the screen bounced before my eyes.

Shortly after the call ended, I started getting kicked off of internal systems one by one until I finally lost access to it all. I locked my corporate-loaned laptop one last time and waited for the emotions to sink in.

While this isn’t the case for many, I consider myself lucky to actually enjoy the company that I worked for. It was known for its welcoming culture, flexible benefits, and competitive hiring. I worked extremely hard to secure a position at this company and was overflowing with gratitude when it happened.

--

--

Elishah Virani
Women in Technology

Storyteller | Certified Life & Writing Coach | Data Analyst | Activist