Linking Paths: The Journey of a Female Product Designer in a Mobility Startup

Victória Carneo
Women in Technology
2 min readFeb 20, 2024

Since my first day at the startup where I currently work, even as an intern, my leaders have been women. In fact, since the interview, my contact was exclusively with women. It might seem strange, but it strengthened me, bringing a sense of security. After all, I was joining a startup in a traditionally male-dominated sector: mobility.

Image of Ada Lovelace edited by Adobe Firefly (IA)

From the beginning, having women as leaders — including the company’s only female founder — had a profoundly positive impact. However, it was only later that I realized how vital this representation was. Even as an intern, I felt that my voice was heard and that my bosses were by my side. Today, as a Product Designer, in a team that is proportionately more male (being an extension of the IT team), I feel valued and respected. My boss, one of the most respected women in the company (which operates in 5 countries!), also contributes to this.

It is important to emphasize that good leaders do not have a specific gender. However, I cannot deny that the fact that they were women was crucial to driving and valuing my work. I deeply admire the strength with which they carved out their spaces. Despite being in a predominantly male environment, we have found our place and are respected professionals.

There are no technical limitations imposed by gender. But we must fight, day after day, against a sexist and backward mentality. Like them, now I know that I can do what is necessary to achieve my goals as well as speak to whoever is needed. Being a woman in the technology field, especially in mobility, is challenging, but also rewarding.

I’m sharing my common story to inspire other women to claim their space, whether in technology or any other field. I encourage them to seek out women to accompany them on this journey. It’s not easy to be the only one at the beginning, but those who came before us paved the way for us to run (and shine!)

Feel free to contact me and talk more about this article.
victoria.carneo@gmail.com
https://carneovictoria.myportfolio.com/

--

--

Victória Carneo
Women in Technology

Product Designer at BUSUP | Based in Brazil | https://carneovictoria.myportfolio.com/ | Writer for Bootcamp and Women InTechnology