Ok, but… `return` WHAT?

Isabella Gomes
Women in Technology
2 min readApr 9, 2023

Why and how I wrote an extensive-now-public three pages guide about how JavaScript works.

⭑・゚゚・**゚*:✼ヾ(^-^)ノDev talk time (❛◡˂ ✧) *:・゚✧*:・゚✧

Most of my friends learn by doing but I’m the very opposite. I learn by dissecting the subject to its core until I fully understand how it works. Just trying and asking chatGPT til it works is not enough for my boat to float.

I know this habit is impossible during a regular week as a developer, as half of your productive hours are dedicated to questioning your sanity and the other half is pushing to master whatever it is that is finally working. Therefore, I try to use the weekends to deep dive into the topics I struggled with throughout the week.

If you are new to JavaScript, two things haunt you at night:

  • The `this` keyword;
  • The `return` statement.

Can I write functions? Yes. Can I write objects? Of course. Can I manipulate the DOM? Like Elon Musk manipulates the market by publicly inflating AI’s capabilities. Was it enough? Obviously not.

If I want to know enough JS to start working with libraries and frameworks, I need to know where the actual fuc* am I returning the return to. For this reason, I started digging into the JavaScript runtime and its elements, especially the JS engine (V8 for me since I work with browsers).

You can feast on aaaaaall of this whole meal here on my GitHub: https://github.com/isamog2/JavaScriptEngine

If you have Obsidian, you can download the pages through the links I listed on the repository’s ReadMe.

If you don’t have Obsidian you can download it for free: https://obsidian.md/

If you don’t want to download it for free pls go get a mental health check. Yes, you can go. I’ll be waiting 👋

--

--

Isabella Gomes
Women in Technology

27. A list of work stuff bc apparently thats important: Former United Nations FAO Nutrition Scientist. FullStack Developer. Brazilian immigrant in Amsterdam.