SWE Interview Prep Tips from Google

Tips and tricks I learned during my summer apprenticeship with Google Engineers!

Rimika Dhara
Women in Technology

--

Summer 2022, I got the opportunity to participate in Google’s Software Product Sprint Program. This selective program aims to expose CS students to the industry by helping them build their portfolio, practice industry’s best code review and collaboration practices, and give Interview prep tips and tricks. On the technical side, I learnt a lot about frontend development, backend development, Google Cloud Platform, NoSQL database, and contributing on GitHub through Git. For someone interested in exploring a career in software development, I believe this program to be a helpful insight into the CS industry.

Since ya girl doesn’t wanna gate-keep, here’s what I learnt during the Interview Coaching sessions lead by Google engineers and recruiters themselves. Some of these tips might be specific to Google itself, but I’ll try keeping it as generalized as possible, while mentioning important notes about it for people who are trying to prep for a Google interview.

Resume Tips

Because I am no expert in this matter, I am only going to highlight tips that I found rather surprising as a beginner which most people seem to miss out on. However, if you want a more in-depth breakdown…

--

--

Rimika Dhara
Women in Technology

Aspiring SWE and ML Engineer. Current SWE Intern at Oracle.