The Gender Bias We Don't Talk About

Hard Work vs. Natural Talent

Debra Lawal
Women in Technology
6 min readMay 24, 2024

--

GIF illustrating grit vs gift using a man and a woman

I sat across from him in the Zoom window, my heart pounding in a familiar rhythm of interview jitters. We were told to introduce ourselves, and he went first, smoothly listing his innate abilities and achievements from the last few years. Dropping terms in marketing I read in books and courses, but I don't actually use them like that in regular sentences.

My turn! Who am I? My brain was blank.

Oh yes, I'm hardworking. I stumbled over words like "dedicated" and "results-oriented." I took the time to learn to do my job well and have been practising for over seven years. I'm still learning, practising, and getting things done. No, I am not the "I woke up like this-Beyonce." I am the "I'm a survivor-Beyonce."

The rest of the interview felt like I was in a contest of "please, like me more." Cringe! Necessary Cringe! After the interview, I wasn't sure anymore.

I felt even more uneasy after checking out his LinkedIn profile, which was filled with what you call a "LinkedIn Fairytale." His LinkedIn profile practically glowed with the golden aura of a marketing prodigy: accolades and a string of effortlessly worded posts about turning millions of leads into hundreds of millions.

Meanwhile, my story was different. It was a tale of sleepless nights and a fierce determination to claw my way back into my career after years devoted to raising my son.

A man and woman strategising

How Did We Get Here?

The job application process has been so draining lately. I've had to complete case studies, record cover videos (which is particularly challenging for me as an INFJ-T), write sample articles, take aptitude tests, and even do a screen recording showing my research and writing process, among other sometimes time-limited, other times, time-consuming tasks.

It's been a lot to handle, especially when I usually end up with rejection letters. When I do get offer letters, the employers often change the terms from what was initially advertised or discussed during the interview, and I end up having to reject the offers.

It's frustrating because I know I will put so much effort and dedication into my work and adhere to a strong work ethic. I take pride in setting goals and exceeding them, and I refuse to accept anything less than what I know I'm capable of.

After all the rejections and setbacks, I finally landed a job that felt right. The first interview was relaxed, and I was in my element, answering the questions confidently. They were impressed and sent me a case study task, which I worked tirelessly on. There were moments when I questioned whether it was all worth it, but I pressed on.

After submitting the case study, I didn’t hear back for about a month, so I decided to follow up. I received a response stating that the CEO had been unavailable previously, and since he had the final say, this was the reason for the delay.

They were now ready to move forward because they were impressed with my work. As a result, I will be meeting with the rest of the team and the CEO in the scheduled meeting. Thank God! I was already calculating my new salary’s savings-to-spending ratio.

Calculating my salary before getting the job

However, I was surprised to see another candidate in the virtual meeting. It suddenly felt like a competition, and I struggled to present myself confidently, especially after hearing the other candidate’s impressive introduction.

That was my mistake; I should have introduced myself first. My brain was still trying to understand what was happening when we were told to introduce ourselves. I thought being in the final stage meant… I don't know what I expected, but it wasn't this. So many questions were going through my mind. Are we going to be working together? Or maybe different teams? What's happening?

The Epiphany

Weeks went by after the interview without a response, and just when I started to lose hope, I received an unexpected offer letter. Had my persistence finally paid off? Or was there more to this story? I still don't know. But something else happened…

I stumbled on an article titled 'Harvard Research Reveals the Best Way to Describe Yourself.' And everything started to make sense.

It turns out that there’s a subtle bias against hardworking people, with a tendency to favour those who present themselves as 'naturals.' I discussed this with my sister, who has had over a decade of experience in human resources, and she confirmed my suspicions, drawing from various instances in her professional experience.

Guess which gender is most likely to describe themselves as hardworking and which would as 'a natural’. And who gets the job most of the time? Men! Why? Men are more likely to describe themselves as 'naturals,' while women tend to emphasise their hard work. And it seems that 'naturals' are more likely to be perceived as more skilled and capable. It’s your typical Messi versus Ronaldo situation. I often lost out to guys who radiated that effortless "natural talent" charm.

Talent vs hardwork using Messi and Ronaldo

The Hardworking Woman's Predicament: A Familiar Tale

My experience isn't unique. Women are often conditioned to emphasise their hard work, dedication, and willingness to learn. We downplay our natural abilities and highlight our tireless efforts. This is partly due to societal expectations and gender roles that have historically cast women as diligent and nurturing.

Research supports this observation. A study published in the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology found that women tend to attribute their success to effort, while men attribute it to ability. This difference in self-perception can influence how we present ourselves in professional settings.

In contrast, men are often encouraged to project confidence and assertiveness. This can lead to them being perceived as naturally gifted, even when their skills are honed through practice and experience, just like women's.

The Bias We Don't Discuss: The "Naturalness" Gap

This unspoken preference for perceived natural talent can create a significant disadvantage for women, even when we're equally or more qualified. This "naturalness" gap is a subtle form of gender bias that perpetuates inequality in the workplace.

Many studies in gender studies have found that The 'natural talent' narrative can create a self-fulfilling prophecy. If men are constantly praised for their inherent abilities, they're more likely to internalise this belief and project confidence. Women, on the other hand, may internalise the message that they need to work harder to compensate for their perceived lack of natural talent.

This bias isn't just anecdotal. A joint study published in the Association for Psychological Science found that women are less likely to be hired for jobs emphasising "raw talent" or "brilliance," even when their experience and qualifications are equal to men's.

Unmasking the Myth: Challenging the Narrative

The "natural talent" myth is harmful to women and workplaces. By favouring perceived natural ability over demonstrated hard work, companies risk overlooking talented individuals who could bring valuable skills and perspectives to their teams.

So, how can we challenge this narrative?

  1. Recognise the Bias: Acknowledge that the "naturalness" gap exists and that it can influence hiring decisions and career advancement.
  2. Reframe Your Narrative: Instead of solely focusing on hard work, showcase your natural abilities and strengths. Highlight your achievements and the unique value you bring to the table.
  3. Build Confidence: Don't be afraid to own your accomplishments and project confidence in your abilities. Remember, you've earned your place at the table.

Share Your Story

I still don't know if I will start describing myself as a "natural talent" now that I know what I know. But what do you think? Have you experienced the "hardworking woman" vs "natural talent" dynamic in your career? How do you present yourself in interviews? What strategies have worked for you? I'm looking forward to these conversations. Cheers!

Self esteem vs self compassion

--

--

Debra Lawal
Women in Technology

Tech Blogger | Aspiring AI SME | Passionate about savvy tech developments for creative processes.