Why there is (actually) no shortage of skilled workers in Germany’s tech sector

But Germany’s tech industry is simply causing its own breakdown by failing in diversity

Crafted Codes
Women in Technology

--

MidJourney generated image — Dieser Artikel ist auch auf Deutsch erhältlich

For some years now, hardly a day has gone by in Germany without news reports about the spectre of a shortage of skilled workers, which will wreck German industry. To change this, the Federal Minister of Labour, Hubertus Heil, wants to make Germany an attractive location for workers from non-EU countries. At the same time, the tech sector is being advertised as the best industry for bright minds who are in need for flexibility.

To anticipate one thing:

I am not against having more foreign workers in Germany. Personally, I believe in the growth of humanity through cultural exchange and I love it whenever I meet people who are willing to take on the never-ending battle with German bureaucracy and then struggle with the German language (and the not infrequently sceptical German citizens). In my eyes, these people are truly special and admirable. I would not voluntarily put myself through this hassle here. Especially because real life in Germany is often extremely different from what people thought before, which is why, unfortunately, some of my friends have left Germany disillusioned and I miss them every…

--

--