Doris Nuval

WomenTalk
WomenTalk TV
Published in
2 min readSep 8, 2016
Doris Nuval, longest held female political prisoner turned activist

Doris Nuval from the Philippines, holds the record for being the longest held female political prisoner from the Marcos years. Arrested in 1980 for planting a bomb, she spent nearly 5 years in prison and escaped execution because her father was a close friend of Marcos.

Q: Doris, this is amazing. I’m sitting here, I’m reading through all these articles and I’ve this burning desire to ask you, why did you plant that bomb?

A: Why did I plant that bomb? I thought it was my chance to be able to serve this country. Marcos at that time was in power for more than 15 years, and the dictatorship knew no bounds.

Q: Was it a huge bomb?

A: It was a small one. I was told that it would not hurt people; it was meant as propaganda. We wanted to land on the front pages of the world papers. I didn’t ever think I would get jailed. It was either I was going to do it well or get killed.

Q: Doris, how did you feel the day that you got out of prison?

A: The first sound I heard at night, I stepped on the living room couch — “Balut!” (Common sounds of vendors peddling food on the streets). And I just aaargh. Something just broke loose and I just cried and cried. Because “Balut” was the sound of freedom; I mean, you never heard that from jail.

Q: What is empowerment to you?

A: Empowerment to me is having enough information, expressing what you feel in a public arena without being stopped.

For Doris’s full video:

--

--

WomenTalk
WomenTalk TV

An Emmy nominated series featuring extraordinary unsung ‘sheroines’ from Asia. We are the leading women’s empowerment platform in Asia. http://womentalk.com/