Joanna See Too

WomenTalk
WomenTalk TV
Published in
2 min readSep 9, 2016
Joanna See Too, Singaporean Chinese Opera Artist

Driven by an unwavering passion, Joanna See Toh has dedicated her entire life to the art of Chinese opera. Though her journey has not been easy, she has never once looked back.

Q: How did you first fall in love with Chinese opera?

A: It’s the beautiful costume and beautiful makeup that draws me. So my grandma bring me to opera shows, I fall in love with the art, I wanted to wear every set of this beautiful costume, so that’s why I ended up here. I was only around seven years old.

Q: And from then you decided that this was going to be your career path?

A: No, I’d just taken up Chinese opera as my hobby. But I only began to take this as a professional job when my mum fell ill. And, I believed that I needed to spend more time with her, as I’ve been spending too much time with my job, with my hobbies. So I decided that this is the right thing to do.

Q: Why do you believe so strongly in what you do?

A: I just think that if you love something, you will not want to let go. And I will hold on to it.

Q: What is empowerment to you?

A: Believe in yourself, true to yourself, and ignore whatever negative and not positive remarks because we only live once in a lifetime.

To watch Joanna’s full video:

--

--

WomenTalk
WomenTalk TV

An Emmy nominated series featuring extraordinary unsung ‘sheroines’ from Asia. We are the leading women’s empowerment platform in Asia. http://womentalk.com/